Skip to main content

Planning

A Guide to Library Resources for Studies in Planning

Find Journals

A journal is a periodical publication that contains scholarly information in a subject area.  Scholarly or academic journals are collections of journal articles written by professors, researchers, or experts in a given field. 

Journals are one type of serial, which is any publication published in parts (usually in regular intervals).  Other types of serials are magazines and trade publications.  Articles that undergo a review process by other experts before publication are known as peer-reviewed.

Some important Planning journals :

  • Canadian Journal of Urban Research
  • Environmental History
  • International Planning Studies
  • Journal of Environmental Planning and Management
  • Journal of the American Planning Association
  • Journal of Urban Design
  • Journal of Urban History
  • Journal of Urbanism: International Research on Placemaking and Urban Sustainability
  • Planning: The Magazine of the American Planning Association
  • Planning Theory & Practice
  • Town & Country Planning: The Journal of the Town and Country Planning Association
  • Urban Ecology: An International Perspective on the Interaction Between Humans and Nature
  • Urban Studies

Journals are available in print in the Sexton Library (shelved alphabetically by their title -- no call numbers are used), or in electronic format through one of Dalhousie's research databases


Electronic Planning Journals

The Dalhousie Libraries provide access to over 103 electronic planning journals:  

You can also go to the Databases for Journal Articles and More tab on this Subject Guide to see a list of databases (like Avery, JStor) to search for journal articles.

Journal Citation Reports

Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. ‚Äč