LibGuides: Business Research Guide: Home

Top Links to Business Information

Below are the most used resources available at the Dalhousie Libraries that cover various topics in the areas of business, commerce, and management.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
*Key database for Business Management* Indexes and abstracts 1000+ journals and provides full-text for 500+ management, marketing and business journals
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
"Business Source Complete provides full text for over 10,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,150 peer-reviewed business publications.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides Canadian and worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, newswires, and transcripts. Best for recent Globe & Mail, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc. Provides content in 22 languages. N.B. Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni is the new interface for Lexis/Nexis Academic. NexisUni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Provides access to: analyses of over 30 000 companies, with SWOT analyses for the largest 2 500, over 3 000 industry profiles across more than 25 geographies and 200 markets and reports on the political, economic, social, technological, legal, and environmental landscape of all major countries. Also included are Country Statistics, Financial Deals Tracker, Company Prospector, Investment & Advisory Prospector, Company Report Generator, and Market Data Analytics databases. See Tutorial at https://bcove.video/330HWM5

CBCA complete
Canadian Business & Current Affairs provides indexing and full text of Canadian material.

Mergent online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to company history, summary balance sheets and income statements, capital structure, subsidiaries, principal officers, financial filings and more. Use this resource to perform peer analysis and make custom reports. Also included are the Executive search and SEC Filings (US Filings) databases. Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Econlit This link opens in a new window
The American Economic Association’s electronic bibliography, EconLit, indexes over 120 years of economics literature from around the world. Compiled and abstracted in an easily searchable format, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations. Now with full text access.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 2200 full text journals covering Agriculture, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Finance, Energy, Engineering, Environmental Science,Health Sciences, Immunology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Physics, Psychology and the Social Sciences. Search across all journals or subsets of journals, abstracts, databases, and reference works. Dalhousie users may register for free "alerts" services and other customizable options. Also included in ScienceDirect are over 500 full text books.

EIU Viewpoint / Economist Intelligence Unit
Provides access to reports and data covering country political and economic analysis, forecasts, and business regulations. It combines comparable country-specific data and forecasts with extensive country-intelligence of key events worldwide. Includes Data Tool with access to key economic historical, current and forecasted country data.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers. Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides you with access to a selection of more than 1000 reference books and over 200,000 related images. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Business & Management
Access to a selection of the Oxford University Press Business and Management online books.
VIEW ALL DATABASES
SEARCH FOR BOOKS Enter search terms (keywords) in the search box to search for print and electronic books on your topic or browse through the list of new books .

Leading Academic Journals by FOM Departmental Research Fields*

*The journals listed below have been selected from the The 2022 Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) Journal Quality List and are limited to those endorsed with A* or A classifications.

Accountancy	Accounting Accountability and Performance Accounting and Business Research Accounting and Finance Accounting and the Public Interest Accounting Auditing and Accountability Journal Accounting Horizons Accounting Perspectives Advances in Accounting Accountancy Business and the Public Interest
Finance	European Financial Management Finance Finance and Stochastics Finance Research Letters Financial Analysts Journal Financial Management Financial Markets and Portfolio Management Financial Markets, Institutions and Instruments Financial Review (US) Global Finance Journal
Information Science	ACM Transactions on Computer-Human Interaction ACM Transactions on Information Systems Data and Knowledge Engineering Electronic Journal of Knowledge Management First Monday Government Information Quarterly
Leadership & Organizations	Annual Review of Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior European Journal of Training and Development Gender, Work and Organization Global Business and Organizational Excellence Group & Organization Management Higher Education, Skills and Work-based Learning
Management Science & Information Systems	Annals of Operations Research Applied Stochastic Models in Business and Industry Decision Sciences Decision Support Systems Enterprise Information Systems Ethics and Information Technology European Journal of Information Systems Expert Systems with Applications Global Journal of Flexible Systems Management
Marketing	Advances in Consumer Research Advances in International Marketing Advertising & Society Review Consumption, Markets and Culture European Journal of Marketing
Public & International Affairs	American Review of Public Administration Canadian Public Policy European Journal of Government and Economics Food Policy Foreign Affairs Foreign Policy (Washington) Growth and Change Health Policy
Strategy, Entrepreneurship, & International Business	Advances in International Management Business Strategy Review Corporate Governance and Sustainability Review Creativity and Innovation Management Entrepreneurship Research Journal Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice Entrepreneurship and Regional Development European Journal of Innovation Management Family Business Review Global Strategy Journal Harvard Business Review
Across All Areas of Management Research	Academy of Management Annals Academy of Management Discoveries Academy of Management Journal Academy of Management Learning and Education Academy of Management Review Administrative Science Quarterly Canadian Journal of Administrative Sciences European Journal of Management Studies European Management Journal European Management Review

SEARCH FOR E-JOURNAL(s)

Quick links to business news

The Globe & Mail
Canada Stockwatch
The Economist Online
Wall Street Journal
Forbes
MarketWatch
Top World Business News (by Industry)
N.B. To read the selected news articles open Factiva and search for the article title.

Business Research Guide

Top Links to Business Information

Leading Academic Journals by FOM Departmental Research Fields*

Accountancy

Finance

Information Science

Leadership & Organizations

Management Science & Information Systems

Marketing

Public & International Affairs

Strategy, Entrepreneurship, & International Business

Across All Areas of Management Research

Quick links to business news