Skip to main content

Agricola Collections

A guide to the MacRae Library's Archives & Special Collections

Agricola Collections Hours

Academic Term & Summer Hours

Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Closed Weekends & Holidays

*By appointment only, please allow 24 hours notice*

MacRae Library Hours

Academic Term Hours:

Monday-Thursday: 8:30am-10:30pm

Friday: 8:30am-6:00pm

Saturday: 12:00pm-5:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am-10:30pm

Summer Hours (April 16-September 3)

Monday-Friday: 8:30am-4:30pm
Closed Weekends and Holidays

Archives & Special Collections

Agricola Archives, Special Collections, and Museum

Since 1912, the Library has housed a collection of literature and artifacts reflecting different facets of agriculture: education, technology, and research. The Agricola Collections contain archival material such as rare books, documents, maps, manuscripts, and photographs concerned with the Nova Scotia Agricultural College, agricultural practice, agricultural education, the Nova Scotia Department of Agriculture, science, and natural resources in Atlantic Canada and Maritime literature.  Materials have been collected from campus or donated primarily by people associated with the College.  We currently have 74 meters of accessioned material in the Archives, 650 books catalogued, with an additional 1,200 in shelf order, 118 pages and 412 photographs.

Archival Collection 

  • Edith Zillig Sheep Fonds
  • Atlantic Canada Co-op Archives
  • Farm Radio Forum
  • Textual Documents
  • Photographs and Maps
  • Manuscripts

Special Collections 

  • Monographs
  • Serial Publications

Museum Collection

  • Artifacts
  • Implements (farming/household)

 *Viewing arrangements of the special collections can be made with Library staff*  

Contact