Skip to main content

Transition Year Program

Library guide for Transition Year Program students (TYP)

To search for articles, use a database

Yavapai College Library

But what is a database?

A database is basically a collection of information. Many library databases are simply collections of journals and other scholarly materials. So, when we talk about databases, we're talking about places you can go to look for academic articles!

If you are having trouble finding articles on your your topic please ask for assistance --- it is no fun wasting time in the wrong database!  You may also want to ensure that you know the difference between SCHOLARLY and POPULAR articles.

Recommended databases

Here are some other databases that may be useful --- however, if you are having trouble finding articles on your your topic please ask for assistance --- it is no fun wasting time in the wrong database! 

helps you discover SOME journal articles, but it cannot find all the articles you have access to and is not really the best place to search. For comprehensive searching, you should search within individual databases that match your research area(s).

How to search databases with Boolean operators (and zombies)

Lego figurine of zombie office worker - Public domain from https://www.flickr.com/photos/pasukaru76/5369527462/ Boolean search expressions are magical formulas compatible with most databases in which keywords are combined with Boolean operators to create super effective searches.

Zombies are terrifying former humans that want to eat your brain and/or transform you into a zombie (their exact motivations are unclear).

ZomBool is a 'choose-your-own-path' video game created by a Dal librarian to help you learn how to survive the zombie apocalypse (maybe) with the help of search strategies and Boolean operators (PC or Mac).