Oceanography

"The ‘‘Aral Sea Encyclopedia’’ is the first one in the new series of encyclopedias about the seas of the former Soviet Union"

"Includes the basic principles of coastal processes, methods for computing coastal planning and design parameters, and guidance on how to formulate and conduct studies in support of coastal flooding, shore protection, and navigation projects."

"Broadly interdisciplinary in its treatment of coasts, abundantly illustrated with line-drawings and photographic Appendix listings of databases, journals and organizations"

"The interplay between Geology and Biology has shaped the Earth from the early Precambrian, 4 billion years ago. Moving beyond the borders of the classical core disciplines, Geobiology strives to identify chains of cause-and-effect and synergisms between the geo- and the biospheres that have been driving the evolution of life in modern and ancient environments. Combining modern methods, geobiological information can be extracted not only from visible remains of organisms, but also from organic molecules, rock fabrics, minerals, isotopes and other tracers. An understanding of these processes and their signatures reveals enormous applied potentials with respect to issues of environment protection, public health, energy and resource management."

"The Encyclopedia of GIS features a comprehensive, authoritative treatment of this subject matter, with a simple A-Z format providing easy access to the field.
Authored and peer-reviewed by world experts, the entries explain the key software, data sets, and processes used by geographers and computational scientists. Nearly 200 topics include major overviews such as Geoinformatics, Spatial Cognition, and Location-Based Services. Short entries, cross-referenced to related larger entries, define specific terms and concepts such as the Global Positioning System, Digital Elevation/Terrain Model, and Remote Sensing. Larger entries include key citations to the literature, and (online) internal hyperlinks to definitional entries and current standards."

"eLS (formerly known as the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field. It offers comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the life sciences for students, lecturers and researchers alike."

"The Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals, Third Edition covers the ecology, behavior, conservation, evolution, form and function of whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, manatees, dugongs, otters and polar bears."

"Encyclopedia of Marine Science, Revised Edition explores the principal areas and issues of this core discipline in hundreds of entries, essays, photographs, and line illustrations."

" This encyclopedia approaches coral reefs from an earth science perspective, concentrating especially on modern reefs. Currently coral reefs are under high stress, most prominently from climate change with changes to water temperature, sea level and ocean acidification particularly damaging. Modern reefs have evolved through the massive environmental changes of the Quaternary with long periods of exposure during glacially lowered sea level periods and short periods of interglacial growth. The entries in this encyclopedia condense the large amount of work carried out since Charles Darwin first attempted to understand reef evolution. Leading authorities from many countries have contributed to the entries covering areas of geology, geography and ecology, providing comprehensive access to the most up-to-date research on the structure, form and processes operating on Quaternary coral reefs."

"The oceans cover 70% of the Earth’s surface, and are critical components of Earth’s climate system. This new edition of Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, Six Volume Set summarizes the breadth of knowledge about them, providing revised, up to date entries as well coverage of new topics in the field."

"The Treatise on Geochemistry is the first work providing a comprehensive, integrated summary of the present state of geochemistry. It deals with all the major subjects in the field, ranging from the chemistry of the solar system to environmental geochemistry."

"This Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive depository of all information relating to the scientific and technological aspects of the world's most important natural resource - water. The role of water in science, engineering and society requires a one-stop location to find whatever information is available on the cutting edge of the 21st century. This book is a resource for useful public domain data. Its focus is expert narrative on all water-related subjects."

"Provides systematized knowledge of the history of activities related to the Laptev, East Siberian and Chukchi seas."

"Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers."