An academic database is a collection of information that can be searched and used for research and writing. Databases include articles, journals, reports, magazines, newspapers, books, and more. Some databases are subject specific and some cover many areas of interest.
Hover over the icon for more information on each database.
AGRISAn international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. The system identifies worldwide literature (both conventional and non-conventional; the so-called "grey" literature), dealing with all aspects of agriculture. Contains more than 3,000,000 references to date.
ARTSTORThe ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/subjectguides).
Avery IndexIndexes English and foreign language journals on architecture, city planning, interior design, & historic preservation.
BuildingGreen.comBuildingGreen combines information with insight to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve the environmental performance, and reduce the adverse impacts, of buildings. It provides in-depth articles on building strategies, case studies, and assessments of sustainable materials.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)Formerly Digital Dissertations, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses available. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world (from 1861 to the present day) together with 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
Environment CompleteContains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals. It also offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Gale directory libraryDescribes publicly available databases accessible through an online vendor or batch processor or for purchase on CD-ROM, diskette, or magnetic tape, or as a handheld product. Separate listings for database producers and vendors and distributors with full contact information and lists of databases offered.
JSTORDalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections. These databases cover hundreds of journal title backfiles from 41 academic disciplines. It is a unique digital archive of journals, starting with the very first issues. The collection covers material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between zero and 8 years before current publication.
Plants DatabaseA single source of standardized information about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, references, and other plant information.
Project MuseSearch across all Project Muse titles for citations and articles of interest. Full-text of articles is available to only Dalhousie users
Sustainable Development Goals OnlineSustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including Taylor & Francis’ books and journals across all disciplines, themed around the SDGs. SDGO includes more than 12,000 selected articles and chapters in an online library covering the 17 SDGs, plus teaching and learning materials (presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans). It was created in partnership with United Nations agencies and guided by an international Advisory Board comprised of academics, policy-makers, government, NGOs and more. It has major updates twice yearly in April and September.
These databases contain information on a variety of subjects and are a good place to search:
Academic Search PremierComprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis
EBSCOhost DatabasesProvides access to many databases purchased from EBSCO including: Academic Search Premier, America: History & Life, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, EconLit, Film & Television Literature Index, Gender Studies, GreenFILE, Historical Abstracts, International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, and SPORTDiscus.
Google ScholarSearch for academic sources using the Google search engine.
ProQuest DatabasesThis link provides access to the databases purchased from Proquest: ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Canadian Periodicals Canadian Research Index CBCA Complete ComDisDome Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) Dissertations & Theses @ Dalhousie University Environmental Science and Pollution Management ERIC GeoRef Index Islamicus International Index to Music Periodicals Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) PAIS Philosopher's Index ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source ProQuest Research Library Social Services Abstracts Sociological Abstracts
ScopusScopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.