LibGuides: History: Central and South America

Key Databases and Journals

Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.
HAPI online This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean and Hispanic Americans. Subject focus excludes pure and technical sciences. Links to full-text are available for selected journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
*Key database for History* Indexes and abstracts articles in 2000+ journals, plus books and dissertations on the history of all parts of the world from 1450 to the present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dalhousie subscribes to JSTOR's Arts and Sciences I-VII, Business, Ecology and Botany, Language and Literature, and Life Sciences collections. These databases cover hundreds of journal title backfiles from 41 academic disciplines. It is a unique digital archive of journals, starting with the very first issues. The collection covers material from the 1800s up to a 'moving wall' of between zero and 8 years before current publication.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts 2300+ journals and newspapers in many subject areas including: arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies. Full-text for hundreds of journals.

Portal de Portales Latindex
Provides access to the content and full text documents of scholarly journals available in open access digital collections from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal
LANIC - Latin American Network Information Center
A portal of Latin American Studies content from 1992 - 2015. This site is no longer updated, but past content is searchable. The site provides a list of online resources and journals.
Canadian Journal of Latin American & Caribbean Studies
This journal is no longer updated, but all issues from 1998 - 2012 are available.
Hispanic American Historical Review
Provides in-depth and pioneering research on scholarship in Latin American history and culture.
Latin American Politics and Society
Latin American Perspectives
Covers issues from 1974 - 2015. This journal is no longer updated, but all past issues are searchable.
Latin American Open Archives Portal
Improving access to social sciences grey literature, this portal provides access to working documents, research papers, and other publications.
H-LatAm
An international forum for the scholarly discussion of Latin American history.

Reference Works

Reference materials may include dictionaries, atlases, encyclopedias, indices, almanacs, and other similar resources.

JJ Stewart Reference Room (main floor Killam Library)

Reference materials in the JJ Stewart Reference Room are for in-library use only.

Encyclopedia of Mexico (2 vol)	REF F 1210 E63
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures (3 vol)	REF F 1218.6 O95 2001
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures (3 vol)	REF F 1406 E515
Latin American History and Culture (6 vol)	REF F 1406 E53 2008
The Cambridge History of Latin America (10 vol)	REF F 1410 C1834 1984
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics	REF F 1410 E56 2002
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History	REF G 1541 S1 L3 2007
Historical Atlas of Central America	REF ATLAS G1551 S1 H2 2002
Statistical Abstract for Latin America and the Caribbean	REF HA 755 A68

Killam Collection

The Oxford History of Mexico	F 1226 O94 2000
Historical Dictionary of United States-Latin American Relations	F 1418 S638 2007
This History of Argentina	F 2831 L69 2001
Brazil: Oxfam Country Profile	F 2508 R55 2000

Online Reference Works

Primary Sources

Gale Primary Sources
Digital historical documents from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Unique pamphlets from Latin American countries, published in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Hispanic Reading Room
Digital collections by the Library of Congress
Panama and the Canal
A project by the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries and the Panama Canal Museum. Digital collections of photographs, documents, and artifacts during the era of the construction of the Panama Canal.
Exploring the Early Americas
A digitized exhibition through the Library of Congress. Curated from a collection of over 3,000 rare maps, documents, and art.
The Mapas Project
A digital collection of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts (mapas). Hosted through the University of Oregon.
Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages
A phase of the Latin American Research Resources Project. A collection of presidential speeches from 19th century Mexico and Argentina.
Digital Archives of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
Hosted by Princeton University, this collection started in the 1970's with a collections of exclusively Latin American ephemera. In 2015 the collection became open access and now includes Caribbean resources.