Health Law

Legal professionals dealing with medical terminology will appreciate Sloane-Dorland. This invaluable resource integrates legal aspects into medical definitions. The material covered is broad; definitions are drawn from opinions, testimony of medical experts and extracts of lawyer's briefs. And it is all based on approximately 20,000 medical cases in U.S. Federal and State jurisdictions.

Stedman's Medical Dictionary is STEDMAN'S® most technologically advanced and content-rich medical dictionary ever. Stedman's Medical Dictionary is the reliable, essential resource for the health care field, including medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, medical records/coding, and medical language specialists. You can search for the definition of a term, hear it pronounced, see it illustrated, and watch it in motion. In short, you will be given all of the tools you need to learn, understand, and use medical terminology correctly.

This straightforward approach to dimensional analysis incorporates the simple to complex strategy while focusing on understanding how to problem solve. The Third Edition includes more practice problems, more case studies, and new features: Preventing Medication Errors and Solving Pediatric Problems. Pedagogy includes numerous exercises and actual drug labels throughout, as well as tear-out tests at the end of each chapter for faculty evaluation.

This book teaches what clinicians need to know about medical writing and publishing. It is for the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who sees patients and also wants to contribute to the medical literature, as well as for the assistant professor aspiring to promotion.

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR) features the most current text updates based on scientific literature with contributions from more than 200 subject matter experts. The revised version includes a new diagnosis (prolonged grief disorder), clarifying modifications to the criteria sets for more than 70 disorders, addition of International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) symptom codes for suicidal behavior and nonsuicidal self-injury, and updates to descriptive text for most disorders based on extensive review of the literature. In addition, DSM-5-TR includes a comprehensive review of the impact of racism and discrimination on the diagnosis and manifestations of mental disorders. The manual will help clinicians and researchers define and classify mental disorders, which can improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.

This self-help guide is intended for scientists and medical professionals and students who wish to improve their scientific writing skills. Exercises invite the reader to practice the most important aspects of scientific writing. Although the book addresses certain issues more troublesome to scientific communicators of a non-English language origin, the guide will be of equal benefit to those whose first language is English.

First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.

This comprehensive manual covers more than 550 signs and symptoms. More than 300 of the most important signs and symptoms are organized alphabetically; each entry includes an introduction with the definition, description, incidence, significance, and summary of causes; emergency interventions (where appropriate); history and physical examination; medical causes; other causes, such as drugs, herbal medicines, procedures and treatments; special considerations, including complications, comfort measures, and tests; pediatric pointers; geriatric pointers; and patient counseling. This manual includes more than 500 illustrations, tables, and flowcharts for quick access to information. An appendix of 250 less familiar, accessory, or nonspecific signs and symptoms is included, along with English/Spanish translations of common signs and symptoms.

Written by residents at the world-renowned Washington University Medical School—who are assisted by faculty co-authors and an outstanding editorial team—The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics presents brief, logical approaches to diagnosis and management of commonly encountered medical conditions, including new therapies that improve patient outcomes. Thoroughly updated throughout, the 35th Edition provides a clear view of the challenges faced by residents, interns, medical students, and other practitioners, plus offers practical solutions, and expert guidance—all in one convenient and easily accessible source.