Law for Resource and Environmental Management

The definitive work on Canadian constitutional law, written by a respected constitutional law scholar. All aspects of the subject are thoroughly analyzed, including basic constitutional concepts, distribution of powers, civil liberties, and practice related issues. This Thomson e-looseleaf is available online through the Proview platform. Login using your Dal NetID and password.

Co-authored by leading lawyers and academics from across North America, The Law of Climate Change in Canada is the first and only resource to provide an in-depth description and analysis of the complex and ever-expanding array of domestic and international laws and initiatives addressing climate change in Canada. Containing comprehensive coverage of provincial and federal legislation and policy developments from across Canada, this text also describes in detail some of the many emerging climate change law sub-discipline. This Thomson e-looseleaf is available online through the Proview platform. Login using your Dal NetID and password.

The Annotated Guide to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act unravels the complications, offering a practical explanation of how each of the Act's more than 356 sections operate and relate to one another. This information is crucial for those charged with implementing the Act and for those who need to know how it can affect one's clients or business. This Thomson e-looseleaf is available online through the Proview platform. Login using your Dal NetID and password.

Canadian Environmental Assessment Act: An Annotated Guide is regularly updated with new case law, recent and proposed changes to the Act, and recent and proposed changes to relevant regulations. Also includes full text and new case annotations under the recently enacted Impact Assessment Act. This Thomson e-looseleaf is available online through the Proview platform. Login using your Dal NetID and password.

Blakes' Canadian Law of Endangered Species Law is a looseleaf publication of a leading environmental law practitioner. This annually updated two-volume work begins with a discussion on the structure of endangered species law, with annotation on the federal division of powers. It also talks about the common law principles applicable to regulatory law. This Thomson e-looseleaf is available online through the Proview platform. Login using your Dal NetID and password.

The Prosecution and Defence of Environmental Offences draws on case law from across the country and key regulatory guidance documents used at both the provincial and federal levels. This Thomson e-looseleaf is available online through the Proview platform. Login using your Dal NetID and password.

While continuing to provide a comprehensive introductory guide to environmental law in Canada, this fifth edition of Environmental Law incorporates discussion of recent developments in environmental litigation and regulation alongside reference to key statutory developments from the past half decade. In addition, important updates and revisions highlight significant developments in several central areas, notably federal and provincial climate change action following the 2015 Paris Agreement and issues associated with Aboriginal consultation, the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, and traditional environmental knowledge. Essential developments relating to human rights and the environment at both the national and international levels have been included alongside discussion of changes in environmental valuation and compensation, liability for spills and remediation, and polluter-pays jurisprudence. Recent judicial and administrative decisions affecting environmental assessment and involving NAFTA prior to the 2018 round of Canada-US-Mexico negotiations are also covered. Chapters on toxic substances, protected areas, endangered species, and economic incentives for environmental protection also reflect current legal activity and policy proposals. This book is part of the Irwin Essentials of Canadian Law series. It is available as an ebook on the DesLibris platform. Login using your Dal NetID and Password.

The fifth edition of Constitutional Law represents a significant update of the fourth edition, published in 2013. During this period, the Supreme Court of Canada has continued to develop the jurisprudence in all areas of constitutional law, including freedom of association, equality rights, Indigenous title, and inter-jurisdictional immunity. This book includes the complete text of the Canadian Constitution, including explanatory footnotes as consolidated by the federal Department of Justice. Professor Monahan authored the first three editions of this text, and invited Mr. Byron Shaw to join him as a co-author for the fourth edition. Mr. Padraic Ryan has now joined in this most recent revision. As with earlier editions, the aim of this text is to provide lawyers, academics, and law students with a general introduction to, and overview of, the basic elements of the Canadian Constitution. The authors discuss issues in sufficient detail so that the book will be of value to lawyers who encounter constitutional issues in their daily practice. Constitutional Law has been cited with approval by provincial and territorial appellate courts, as well as by the Supreme Court of Canada. This book is part of the Irwin Essentials of Canadian Law series. It is available as an ebook on the DesLibris platform. Login using your Dal NetID and Password.

This is the first and only legal textbook that surveys key legal issues common to the regulation of all resource sectors in Canada. It provides overviews of all major public land uses and their legal regulation. The focus is on public, not private land. The book provides an historical overview and covers modern influences on resource policy including sustainable development, globalization, resource scarcity, and climate change. It looks at Crown ownership, Aboriginal rights, federalism, land use planning, dispositions, conflict resolution, expropriation, and other key legal and policy issues. It includes discussion of the future of the field in light of issues such as climate change and population growth. This book is a valuable resource for law students, lawyers, and those in the various resource industries. This book is part of the Irwin Essentials of Canadian Law series. It is available as an ebook on the DesLibris platform. Login using your Dal NetID and Password.

Inevitably, we live our lives as part of a physical community. Whether one wants it or not, the law recognizes the connections our actions as owners or tenants create with others. Inevitably, too, disputes arise. These can be after the relationship is created, or communities may engage together in advance of irrevocable commitments to try to plan for the future: thus the law of land-use planning. Land use is governed by the common law, by the federal government, by provinces directly, and by municipalities. All aspects are explored in this text. Lawyers, planners, architects, municipal officials, environmentalists, and anyone concerned with the future development of their community will find this guide to Canadian land use and land-use planning law to be hugely valuable. With examples from all Canadian jurisdictions, it explores both the policies and the substantive law of land-use planning. This book is part of the Irwin Essentials of Canadian Law series. It is available as an ebook on the DesLibris platform. Login using your Dal NetID and Password.

Environmental Law and Policy, 4th Edition addresses the current state of our environment and critically examines environmental policies in relation to modern political, ethical, cultural, and scientific concerns. This casebook presents an overview of contemporary environmental challenges, including species elimination, diminishing resources, and climate change, that are consequential to our shifting environmental and legal landscape. Advancing beyond basic environmental legal concepts and principles, the interconnection between various disciplines is outlined to analyze domestic and international environmental trends and legal developments. This e-book is an Emond title available on the VitalSource platform. Login with your Dal NetID and password.

Canadian Constitutional Law includes expanded coverage of Indigenous issues in chapters throughout the book, informed by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Calls to Action. Featuring up-to-date case law and insightful commentary, this interdisciplinary text emphasizes the history of the Canadian Constitution to facilitate a greater understanding of contemporary constitutional issues and interpretations. This e-book is an Emond title available on the VitalSource platform. Login with your Dal NetID and password. The more recent 2022 edition is currently on order.