Skip to Main Content

Aboriginal Law and Indigenous Laws


The Mi'kmaq are Indigenous peoples with land bases across eastern Canada. They refer to themselves as the L'nu, the "people of the same tongue." Their traditional territory, Mi'kma'ki, covers the area now known as Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland, the Gaspé peninsula in Quebec, and Northern Maine. This territory has not been ceded, and is instead governed by the Treaties of Peace and Friendship.

Mi'kmaq First Nations of Nova Scotia

Online Resources