LibGuides: Sustainability 2000 and further ...: Data

BBC The Joy of Stats - Hans Rosling

Sources of Data - By Subject

To expand your search, you can:

Visit Statistic Canada's Statistics by Subject portal (best practice is usually to click on "all subtopics").
Visit Statistic Canada's Surveys and Statistical Programs by Subject portal.
Explore the Canadian Census for data about population, age, sex, dwellings, families, marital status, language, immigration and ethnocultural diversity, aboriginal peoples, education and labour, mobility and migration, language of work, income and housing.
Learn about the DLI and RDC programs to find and access Canadian microdata.

Business and Industry

Canadian Cluster Data
Interesting data on the contribution of clusters of traded industries to regional and national economies.
Canadian Industry Statistics
Analyses industry data on many economic indicators using the most recent data from Statistics Canada
SME Benchmarking Tool
From Industry Canada - View financial performance data by industry.
Industry Canada - Trade Data Online
Canada and/or provinces, and/or trading partners data for imports, exports, domestic market, manufacturing shipments, trade balance.

Economy and Finances

Bank of Canada
Interest and exchange rates, price indices, monetary indicators and statistics.
Canadian Metropolitan Outlook - Halifax
Overview and forecasts for the Halifax economy from the Conference Board of Canada.
RBC Economics Research
Provides analysis and forecasts of the Canadian economy and financial markets. Also included are the indicators for the United States and key international markets.
Finances of the Nation
From the Canadian Tax Foundation.

First Nations

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada - Research and Statistics
Includes demographic projections, fact sheets, population by gender and residence.
First Nation Profiles
From Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.
NHS Focus on Geography Series
Data on Aboriginal Peoples, Immigration and Ethnocultural Diversity, Education, Labour, Income and Housing at different levels of geography.
Indigenous Statistics Portal
Stat Can subject portal.

Health

COVID-19: A Data Perspective
Statistics Canada data portal for COVID data. Explore the dashboards under "Highlights" or click on "All COVID-19 releases" for a searchable list of data tables, data publications, etc.
Canadian Alcohol and Drug Use Monitoring Survey (CADUMS)
Summaries available from Health Canada, microdata available in SDA (see Canadian Datasets).
Health Statistics LibGuide
For a comprehensive resource outlining the best places to find health statistics, see our LibGuide for that topic.
Statistics Canada - Health Statistics
Portal of Statistics Canada Health Statistics.
Statistics Canada - Health Profiles - 2013
Use the "Browse" pull-down menu to select Nova Scotia. Explore the Health Indicators instead of the Health Profiles for more recent health data.
Statistics Canada - Health Regions
Reference maps (PDF) and boundary files (geospatial software) for health regions by province. Click on the most recent entry, select "Table of Contents".
Statistics Canada - Health Trends
Comparable time-series data for a range of health indicators from a number of sources including the Canadian Community Health Survey, Vital Statistics, and Canadian Cancer Registry (last released in 2014).

Housing, Income, and Poverty

CMHC Data Tables
These tables provide an overview of housing conditions and trends in Canada and in each province and Census Metropolitan Area, including housing construction, prices, and sales; rental market trends; mortgage lending; and housing stock.
Income Statistics
Annual data from the Canada Revenue Agency, including by Census Subdivision.
more...less...
The annual Income Statistics reports use tables of data to create a profile of Canadian taxpayers.

Final Statistics - Sample Data
Detailed profiles of Canadian taxfilers based on a stratified random sample of individual tax returns

Interim Statistics - Universe Data
Preliminary statistics based on the universe of all returns filed and processed during a given tax year. This usually represents about 97% of all returns filed
NHS Focus on Geography Series
Data on Aboriginal Peoples, Immigration and Ethnocultural Diversity, Education, Labour, Income and Housing at different levels of geography.
Royal LePage House Price Survey
Comprehensive reports from Halifax to the national market. Links to data tables are provided at the end of many releases.

Immigration

Citizenship and Immigration Statistics
Contains annual statistical information, quarterly administrative data releases, and a 1966 to 1996 statistics archive.
NHS Focus on Geography Series
Data on Aboriginal Peoples, Immigration and Ethnocultural Diversity, Education, Labour, Income and Housing at different levels of geography.

Politics, Voting and Opinion Polls

Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA)
As of December 2017, you can download the microdata of many Canadian opinion polls in Odesi. Select "CORA" or "Public Opinion Polls" under "Collections".
Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA) - Canadian Election Studies and Other Polls
Why people vote the way they do ... what does and does not change during the campaign and from one election to another.
Ipsos Canada
Free access to Canadian opinion polls about voting intentions and some other topics.

Transportation

North American Transportation Statistics database
Includes Canada, USA, Mexico.
Urban Transportation Indicators 2016
Includes indicators for several Canadian cities including Halifax.

Other

Atlantic Data Stream
Gives access to "full water quality datasets collected by 23 monitoring groups from Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia."
Canadian Astronomy Data Centre
Data on Racialized Populations
Guide providing a "starting point for researchers investigating topics about anti-racism and the impact of racism."
National Climate Data and Information Archive
National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI)
Find out about pollutant releases and transfers by postal code.
Women in Canada: A Gender-based Statistical Report: 2015
Comprehensive portrait of women in Canada today including their demographic profile, family status, health, educational attainment, labour force characteristics, and income levels, as well as their involvement in criminal activity as both perpetrators and victims.
Urban Data Centre
"The mission of the Canadian Urban Data Catalogue (CUDC) is to provide awareness of the vast array of urban and non-urban Canadian data by providing an open catalogue of Canadian datasets."

Canadian Portals

Alberta Open Data Portal
Community Information Database
Click on "Start Mapping" or on "Get Data" to find numbers from the 2011 census. Community profiles have data from the 2006 census.
Re3Data
Collections of research data including Canadian scientific and medical data sets from the National Research Council of Canada.
Open Government - Open Data Portal
Provides a "single-window" to data already published by individual departments and agencies on their public websites.
Statistics Canada - Statistics by Subject
Statistics Canada - Surveys by Subject

Nova Scotia Data

Open Nova Scotia
Portal given access to many interesting datasets, including some geographical datasets.
Municipal Census of Canadian Cities
most recent census data available -- search by city or town
Municipal Indicators
Financial, demographic and other indicators for each municipality in Nova Scotia.
Urban Transportation Indicators 2010
Includes indicators for several Canadian cities including Halifax.
NS Agricultural Statistics
overview plus sectors, including financials

International Stats and Data

Statistical Review of World Energy
from BP, this source provides high-quality objective and globally consistent data on world energy markets
World Energy Council
United Nations Statistics Division

Tips for Citing Statistical Sources

and more ...

Bedford Institute of Oceanography
oceans, sea water, sea ice ...
Comprehensive Energy Use Database
an overview of sectoral energy markets in Canada and in each region of the country
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
National Energy Use Database