International Law

This book is among the few to develop in detail the proposition that international law on the subject of interstate force is better derived from practice than from treaties. Mark Weisburd assembles here a broad body of evidence to support practice-based rules of law on the subject of force.

Provides a systematic comparison of legal scholars' views and governments' practice regarding the occasions for, criteria for, and effects of recognition. It traces the evolution from the 19th century practice basing recognition mainly on effective rule to more frequent use of additional criteria in the interwar and early Cold War, to the reassertion of the primacy of effective rule since 1970 and places it in the context of contemporaneous changes in world politics.

A United Nations publication in four volumes (see call number for volumes II, III, & IV) that disseminates widely relevant information relating to the practice of States following the adoption of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea.

National Security Law is a comprehensive handbook that focuses on the law and legal instruments governing the Canadian state's response to events that jeopardize its national security. Specifically, these are events or plausible threats with the potential to inflict massive injury on life and property in Canada&# x02014;terrorism, natural disasters and epidemic disease, and foreign attacks and domestic insurrections.
National security law is governed by a vast array of federal and provincial statutes. But this text, part of Irwin Law's Essentials of Canadian Law series, also draws on core international, constitutional, and common law doctrines and the comparative legal experience of other states. In addition to describing in detail the applicable legal principles, the book flags key dilemmas and challenges that run through national security law. It also critically assesses certain issues of contemporary relevance, such as the use of armed force, torture, government secrecy, surveillance, intelligence information sharing, and detention without trial.

American International Law Cases (AILC) is the only case law reporter that presents U.S. domestic court opinions related to international law. Each case is handpicked and categorized according to topic, in order to help legal researchers to find the most relevant cases quickly and easily. Split into three series, with a separate index for the period 1783-1968 and consolidated tables of cases in volumes 14, 32, and 51.

A monthly column in the American Journal of International Law.

The annual Digest of United States Practice in International Law provides the public with a historical record of the views and practice of the Government of the United States in public and private international law. JX 21 D57a (Cummins & Stewards, eds) covers 1981 to 1988 & JX 21 D57b (Nash, ed) covers 2000 and on.

A digest taken from documents issued by presidents and secretaries of state, and from decisions of federal courts and opinions of attorneys-general. Provides a historical perspective for international law and state treatment by the United States.

This work is based on Wharton's Digest of the international law of the United States, the substance of which is preserved but forms only a small part of the present work.

By an act of Congress, approved February 20, 1897, provision was made for revising, reindexing and completing the second edition of the "Digest of international law of the United States," edited by Francis Wharton and published in 3 vols. in 1896. This resulted in the publication by the government in 1906 of "A digest of international law" in 8 vols., prepared by John Bassett Moore. The present publication covers the documents and files accumulated in the Dept. of state since 1906 and does not duplicate but may be used with the earlier digests. Provides a historical perspective on the United States treatment of international law.

Successor digest to Hackworth's Digest of International Law. Does not incorporate the Hackworth volumes." Commonly known as "Whiteman's Digest".

A reporter of British International law cases decided by tribunals and courts in the United Kingdom.

An annual overview in the British Yearbook of International Law.

A historical look at British International law practice.

A collection of Foreign Office archival documents relating to international law in the United Kingdom.

An annual overview in the Annuaire Français de Droit International.

A source of information on French practice in international law.

A digest of Italian practice in International law.

As a double-blind peer-reviewed publication, the Netherlands Yearbook of International Law offers a forum for the publication of scholarly articles of a conceptual nature in a varying thematic area of public international law.

In the past decades the European Community and, to a lesser extent, the European Union have concluded and become a party to a great number of bilateral and multilateral international agreements. In some cases the Community or the Union acts as the sole contracting party but in an increasing number of cases the Community acts as a joint contracting party alongside the Member States. The author analyses to what extent the Community and the Union apply or are bound by the existing rules of international treaty law as embodied in the two Vienna Conventions and customary international law. His analysis is preceded by an extensive description of the Community and Union’s external treaty-making powers. The study is completed with a number of concrete proposals regarding the manner in which the law of treaties should be amended in order to regulate more effectively the treaty relations of the European Community and the European Union, in particular in the case of mixed agreements.