International Law

The UNBIS Thesaurus is a multilingual database of the controlled vocabulary used to describe UN documents and other materials in the Library's collection. The UNBIS Thesaurus grows as new topics are introduced to the agenda of the Organization and evolves as the language in the UN documents shifts over time. Controlled vocabulary makes subject searches possible by identifying documents on the same concept, even as terminology changes.

The Index to Proceedings is an annual bibliographic guide to the proceedings and documentation of the major organs. The Indexes are prepared by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library and are produced at the end of the session/year.

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. Currently made up of 193 Member States, the UN and its work are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter. The UN has evolved over the years to keep pace with a rapidly changing world. But one thing has stayed the same: it remains the one place on Earth where all the world’s nations can gather together, discuss common problems, and find shared solutions that benefit all of humanity.

The United Nations Treaty Collection (UNTC) is a global portal providing online access to comprehensive information relating to the work of the Treaty Section. The Collection is divided into the following key sections: Depository of Treaties and Registration and Publication of Treaties.

The United Nations Official Document System provides full text search of documents issued since 1993, as well as resolutions of all principal organs and Security Council plenary documents since 1946. Older documents are added regularly. It includes the Daily Journals of New York and Geneva.

UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

The United Nations Digital Library (UNDL) includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. System features include linked data between related documentation such as resolutions, meeting records and voting, and refining of searches by UN body, agency or type of document.