International Law

Published since 1929, and featuring cases from 1919, the International Law Reports is the only publication in the world wholly devoted to the regular and systematic reporting in English of decisions of international courts and arbitrators as well as judgments of national courts. Cases are drawn from every relevant jurisdiction - international and national. The volumes are prepared at the Lauterpacht Research Centre for International Law in the University of Cambridge. All decisions in other languages are translated into English. Because of the standing and scope of its coverage, the series is widely cited in judgments of international and national tribunals. No other publication enjoys such an authoritative position in international law. No other publication provides a comparable coverage of case law in this field. The International Law Reports is an essential holding for every library providing even minimal international law coverage, offering access to the whole range of international case law in one publication, in a manner which is both efficient and economical. Six volumes are published each year.

A series compiling international law cases and decisions from commonwealth countries around the world.

The Oxford ILDC online database, an online collection of domestic court decisions which apply international law, has been providing scholars with insights for many years. This ILDC Casebook is the perfect companion, introducing key court decisions with brief introductory and connecting texts. An ideal text for practitioners, judged, government officials, as well as for students on international law courses, the ILDC Casebook explains the theories and doctrines underlying the use by domestic courts of international law, and illustrates the key importance of domestic courts in the development of international law.

The books under this call number contain proceedings of the International Court of Justice. Enter this call number into the search bar on NovaNet or browse the shelves to find specific titles relevant to your research.

The books under this call number contain proceedings, judgements, and orders of the Permanent Court of International Justice.

Awards of tribunals, established under the auspices of the PCA, are published (if not confidential) in the various publications mentioned below. For recent awards see the PCA's website. Here you also find the PCA conventions, the rules of procedure, information about its history and current activities, and a large collection of links to websites on arbitration.

An essential volume for those whose practice includes arbitration, as well as for scholars of international law and procedure, this compilation marks a milestone in international arbitral history." "Published on the centenary of the Court, this volume contains summaries of all of the Awards, Decisions and Reports rendered with the International Bureau's assistance since the Court's establishment in 1899; a foreword by Judge Shi Jiuyong, International Court of Justice; an analysis by Prof. J. G. Merrills, Professor of International Law, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom, of the contributions of the Permanent Court of Arbitration to international law and dispute resolution; and analyses and comments by G. H. Aldrich and K. H. Ameli of some of the challenges faced and resolved in over 3000 claims disposing of more than $2 billion in assets by arbitration at the Iran-U.S. Claims Tribunal which now approaches two decades of experience.

A collection of arbitral and judicial decisions of the International Court of Justice published by the United Nations. Also available online via NovaNet.

Published in 1916 and in 1932 (second series). Both volumes contain an alphabetical (subject, country, personal) index. Also available online via NovaNet through Haithi Trust.

A collection of international arbitration cases and documents.

A permanent & continuing source of authority for all international proceedings of a judicial or even a mediatorial nature. The set still is regarded as one of the best historical sources for International Arbitrations. The ancient series covers 1491 to 1504, while the modern series covers 1798 to 1817. Contains a subject index. Also available online via NovaNet through Haithi Trust.

A collection of international arbitrations between two or more sovereign nations between 1794 and 1989. The Survey gives the locations of judgments, summaries of the disputes and the judgments, and a list of literature about the specific judgments and contains subject and party indexes.

The Repertory is a compilation of citations taken almost entirely from arbitral awards. The repertory gives factual information about each award and analyzes all awards by subject. It also contains a table of cases, a subject index, and cross references.

In 1981, the United States and Iran entered into the Algiers Accords, which brought an end to the Embassy hostage crisis and created the Tribunal to resolve existing disputes between the two countries and their nationals. The Tribunal sits in The Hague, The Netherlands and is comprised of nine arbitrators: three appointed by Iran, three by the United States, and three by the party-appointed members acting jointly or, in absence of agreement by an appointing authority. This report is the published proceedings of the tribunal. Contains a subject index and table of cases per volume and The Jurisprudence of the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal (1996).

A research aid to be used in conjunction with the texts of dispute settlement reports.

Basic Instruments and Selected Documents is the official collection of legal documents, protocols, and reports adopted by the World Trade Organization. It contains the Protocols for Accession for new WTO members along with other legal instruments.

Dispute settlement decisions of the World Trade Organization (WTO) are presented with the aid of extensive annotations, in-depth analysis, & comprehensive summaries of case histories. The extensive index in each volume enables access to particular titles. Legal precedents & conclusions are detailed in the legal annotations & conclusions sections. Case & treaty citations, along with current information on the overall status of all disputes before the WTO are presented in two tables. Current interpretations of the various treaties that govern international trade law contain full text decisions.

Multiple volumes of claims sorted by category from A to F. Also available online via the United Nations Digital Library.

This bilingual (English and French) series of annual publications reproduces the texts of the Tribunal's decisions. The series started with ITLOS Reports 1997. Also available in electronic format via the ITLOS website.

A definitive trade reference tool, with up-to-date, full-text versions of NAFTA, the full text of the US-Canada FTA, and complete texts of the Annexes and supplemental agreements. This looseleaf provides one complete, easy-to-use source, for coverage of the rapidly changing rules governing trade in North America.