Created by Cochrane Collaboration designed to provide evidence to inform health care decision making. Comprised of six databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE); CENTRAL - Registry of RCT's; and Methodology Reviews; Health Technology Assessments (HTA); and Economic Evaluations Database (EED). Updated quarterly.
PubMed - MEDLINE with Dal journal linksProvides bibliographic access to 4600 biomedical journals indexed at the National Library of Medicine. Coverage is international and dates from the early 1950s. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Search OldMEDLINE for citations from 1951-1965; citations earlier than 1951 can be found in the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index located at the Kellogg Library.
EMBASEThere are over 17 million records indexed in EMBASE (1974-) and MEDLINE (1966-) with over 2,000 records added daily. All records are full indexed with EMTREE terms in 10-14 days. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms and codes; 80% of all citations in EMBASE include author-written abstracts. The EMBASE journal collection is international with over 6500 biomedical journals from 70 countries. EMBASE features comprehensive coverage of: Drug Research, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Pharmacoeconomics, Pharmaceutics and Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental) Basic Biological Research Health Policy and Management Public, Occupational and Environmental Health, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Biomedical Engineering and Instrumentation.
CINAHL Full TextCINAHL is a core resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.
PsycINFO*Key database for Psychology*. Covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior. It is an essential tool for researchers, practitioners, and students in psychology and related disciplines. Provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
Cochrane LibraryCreated by Cochrane Collaboration designed to provide evidence to inform health care decision making. Comprised of six databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE); CENTRAL - Registry of RCT's; and Methodology Reviews; Health Technology Assessments (HTA); and Economic Evaluations Database (EED). Updated quarterly.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP DatabaseThank you to the Dalhousie School of Nursing for partnering on this subscription. The Joanna Briggs Institute is a recognized leader in evidence based information, and contributes to improvements in the quality and outcomes of health care through promoting and supporting evidence based practice. The JBI database includes full text systematic reviews, protocols, evidence summaries, best practice recommendations and consumer information and more. In addition it provides a variety of tools to help appraise literature, develop systematic reviews, create journals clubs and more. Please use the LOG OFF button to EXIT.
ScopusScopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
E-therapeutics+ includes the following products: Therapeutics, based on the publication "Therapeutic Choices", edited by Jean Gray, e-CPS Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, Lexi-Interact Online, a drug interactions program, patient information and e-Therapeutics Mobile offering two applications for your handheld devices.
The online version of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. It provides a comprehensive review about the science and care of the adult patient that incorporates new advances in biomedical research and clinical practice. Included are revisions, data from clinical trials, updated therapy, references, self-assessment questions, and more. Funded by the Faculty of Medicine, Dalhousie University.
Lexi-Comp Online is a comprehensive drug information source and clinical, point-of-care tool. Lexi-Comp®ONLINE™ offers access to the following clinical databases: Lexi-Drugs®, Lexi-Drugs®International, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs®, Geriatric Lexi-Drugs®, Lexi-Natural Products, Lexi-Pharmacogenomics, Lexi-Infectious Diseases, Lexi-Poisoning & Toxicology Lexi-NBCA Exposures, Lab Tests & Diagnostic Procedures, Clinician’s Guide to Diagnosis Clinician’s Guide to Internal Medicine, Clinician’s Guide to Laboratory Medicine and Clinical Modules: Interactions (Lexi-Interact), Patient Care Module: Printable Patient Leaflets, (Lexi-PALS ) providing Drug, Disease, Condition and Procedure information for your patients, Drug Identification (Lexi-Drug ID), I.V. Compatibility (Lexi-I.V. Compatibility), Calculations (Lexi-CALC) and Web Search (Health Search Portal)
Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. The publisher provides the University with free access to Micromedex for educational purposes with the understanding that access be restricted to computers located on the Dalhousie campus. ON CAMPUS ONLY