Skip to Main Content

Newspapers

Dalhousie University Libraries have a good collection of newspapers. They are arranged by title, by searchable databases & indexes and by historical collections.

Indexes

Calgary herald (Citations only, no full textCBCA complete 1982-2001

Canadian news index
v.1(1977)-v.16(1992)
Killam Library Reference Collection Index AI 3 C315

Gazette (Montreal) (Citations only, no full text) CBCA complete 1982-2001

Globe and mail (Toronto) (Citations only, no full text) CBCA complete 1982-

Index to the Financial post
1907-1948
Killam Library Reference Collection Index HG 1 F48 1907-48

New York times index

  • 1851-2012  Killam Library Reference Collection Index AI 2 N53

  ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York times with index 1851-  Dal users only

 New York times digital archive 1851- (1851-1922 & 1987- articles are accessable); free external service

The Times index (London) 1785-

  • 1785-1789
    Killam Library Reference Collection Index
    AN 4 T58 P299
  • Palmer's index to the Times newspapers 1790-1940/1941
    Killam Library Reference Collection Index
    AN 4 T58 P3
  • Official index to the Times 1941-1957:Feb.
    Killam Library Reference Collection Index
    AN 4 T58 P31
  • Index to the Times 1957:Mar.-1972
    Killam Library Reference Collection Index
    AN 4 T58 P31
  • The Times index 1973-
    Killam Library Reference Collection Index AN 4 T58 P31

Vancouver sun (Citations only, no full textCBCA complete 1982-2001

Wall Street journal index
1955-1994
Killam Library HG 1 W26