Maritime Law

2nd floor, aisle 34 and online via WestLaw Edge (law students only)
Relevant Volumes: Shipping- Vol 49, Waters and Watercourses- Vol 52
The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (CED) is published by Carswell and is divided into a Western volume and an Ontario volume. Both include references to other provinces but there is a higher number of references to sources from Ontario, British Columbia, and Alberta. The Sir James Dunn Law Library has print copies of the Ontario volumes only. The titles are organized topically into broad areas of law and broken down into subheadings for easy navigation and context. Entries provide brief summaries of the law as well as key authorities.

2nd floor, aisle 34 and online via Lexis+ (law students only)
Relevant Volume: Maritime
Halsbury’s Laws of Canada, often referred to as simply Halsbury’s, is published by LexisNexis. The print version is published in editions that are updated approximately every 5 years, though some titles are updated more frequently. The titles are organized topically into broad areas of law and broken down into subheadings for easy navigation and context. Entries provide brief summaries of the law as well as key authorities.

2nd floor, aisle 33 and online via WestLaw Edge (law students only)
Relevant Volumes: Transportation
The Canadian Abridgment is a key research tool for identifying cases. It is a digest service that arranges the abstracts of cases reported by topics in alphabetical order. Each volume includes a list of all the abbreviations used, a list of all the cases cited, and then a detailed table of contents. If you have identified your topic areas, you should be able to locate cases indexed under that topic. If the abstract seems useful, you may use the citation information to locate this case in print or a database.

Shipping has many hundreds of terms and phrases whose meaning is not always obvious, even for experienced practitioners. This comprehensive dictionary contains concise definitions of maritime terms and phrases, including those used in liner, tramp and bulk shipping.

This dictionary covers terms used in the documentation of international and intergovernmental organizations and by shipping experts, and includes the official terms used in International Conventions, Codes and Recommendations, as well as terms used in satellite navigation and telecommunication. Its other topics include: acoustics, insurance, containers, cargo, bulk chemicals, carriage of dangerous goods, chemistry, radiocommunication, economics, electricity, environment, finance, fire protection, fishing vessels, hydrography, legal matters, meteorology, navigation, optics, pollution, radars, satellites, shipbuilding, stability, mechanics, and life-saving appliances.

The international shipping industry abounds with specialist terms and jargon, including not only technical expressions but also legal, insurance and commercial terms. This volume has extensive coverage of over 20,000 terms, expressions, acronyms and abbreviations which are used in the worlds of shipping, transport, freighting, insurance, finance, offshore oil and gas, and air transport. It also covers every operational aspect from shipbroking to air transport thus providing the reader with a broad but very detailed reference aid.

A French-English dictionary of maritime transportation terms and phrases published by the United Nations.

The Encyclopedia of International Boundaries presents every existing international land boundary line in its historical context. In concise but detailed entries, accompanied by easy-to-read maps, Dr. Gideon Biger and his collaborators summarize the political and cultural history, as well as the topographical features, that have determined the location of each, citing the relevant treaties, agreements or informal arrangements that govern them. They also give an account of the present status of each border, noting unresolved claims and disputes. Text and maps are supplemented with dozens of useful photographs that allow the reader to visualize each border region.
This important book brings together information that formerly could be found only by consulting several reference sources.

A dictionary of terms and phrases used in the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea.

It is very hard for a lawyer to understand the complex scientific prerequisites that determine the drawing of a certain line, and very hard for a scientist to follow the juridical subtleties that arise once that line is embodied in a legal text. This is the reason why the editors have tried to pool their different experiences in this atlas. They have chosen some important cases and topics and produced the relevant maps and comments. In the commentary they have stressed either the scientific or the legal aspects of the subject, or both, as the case may require. The main aim of "Lines in the Sea" is to give a graphical representation of those provisions of the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea that can be reproduced on maps. The previous 1958 Geneva Conventions have also been considered, together with the practice that has developed through agreements between the States concerned.

Published since 1951, Lloyd’s Maritime Atlas is the oldest and most respected atlas in the shipping industry. A comprehensive reference for locating the world’s busiest ports and shipping places, this new edition has been fully updated and enhanced with brand new maps and features to alleviate the demands on today’s busy shipping professional.