Skip to Main Content

Business Research Guide

Introduction: Data/Statistics Sources

Click on the tabs in the box below to access listings of sources for data on Halifax/NS, Canada, other countries (World), Companies and Industries/Markets. For further research assistance, please contact Dr. Joyline Makani at makani@dal.ca.

Data/Statistics Sources

Presents information from the 2011 Census of Population for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas, communities and census tracts.

Population Projections for Canada (2013 to 2063), Provinces and Territories (2013 to 2038)

Includes value of residential and non-residential construction, & number of types of dwellings.

Browse by databases to access Halifax data  in the city statistics database.

Provides access to current and historical data series collected in a wide variety of subjects by Statistics Canada and other governmental agencies.    Updated weekly.

Canadian statistics including statistical time series from the CANSIM database.

Provided through the University of Toronto. Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences Facility, (CHASS), CANSIM stands for the Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System. Provides access to current and historical data series collected in a wide variety of subjects by Statistics Canada and other governmental agencies.

Presents very detailed census data for most census geography including Dissemination Areas, for multiple years using the CHASS interface.

Population Projections for Canada (2013 to 2063), Provinces and Territories (2013 to 2038)

Housed at Queens university CORA makes available commercial and independent surveys to the academic, research and journalistic communities

Provided for free by Wilfrid Laurier University, in collaboration with the Ontario Council of University Libraries (OCUL), nationally significant polling data, donated by market research firm Ipsos Canada. The data includes a range of opinion polls and surveys on topics such as national and provincial politics, real estate buying habits, and Canadian heritage.

Provides access to Statistics Canada public use microdata files, databases and geographic files to students and faculty at participating institutions in accordance with the Conditions of Use. Browse the collection by clicking on "All products" to find data for a specific survey in the DLI collection, or search in Nesstar's or Beyond 20/20 Web server's interfaces.

Provides access to: Canadian Public Use Microdata Files (PUMFs), mainly survey data available from the Statistics Canada Data Liberation Initiative (DLI); Canadian aggregate census data files; plus a few other collections of data. Using the Survey Documentation & Analysis (SDA) software developed by the University of California, Berkeley, users can analyze datasets online, download data, or consult relevant documentation.This collection of on-line databases and custom built search and retrieval programs are maintained by Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences (CHASS) at the University of Toronto.

The NESSTAR data portal consists of several catalogues of Statistics Canada data: Statistics Canada Public Use Microdata Files (PUMF), Fichiers de microdonnées à grande diffusion de Statistique Canada (FMGD), Statistics Canada metadata for Master Files (RDC),  and  Métadonnées pour les fichiers maîtres de Statistique Canada (CDR)  Users can only browse or search the survey metadata.

Historical archives of data tables on poverty, social assistance and income.

Provides very detailed trade data via the CHASS interface.

Provides quick and easy access to freely available national, global agencies and research groups' web-based statistics.

Available through DLI, the Canadian Business Patterns data is derived from the Business Register a repository of information from the Statistics Canada survey program and from Revenue Canada's Business Number account files.

Browse by databases to access Canadian data available in the Country and City Statistics databases.

Use the "blue" site to access data on industries, markets and demographics, at the country, region and aggregate level, with forecasts out to 2030, from the Data menu click on the Data Tool and select All Viewswire in Step 1.
 

CIHI provides access to comparable, pan-Canadian data on different aspects of the health system. CIHI provides data to qualifying graduate students at no cost through the Graduate Student Data Access Program (GSDAP). Researchers, decision-makers and health managers can request specific data for a fee.

Provides access to the World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), Education Statistics (EdStats), Gender Statistics (GenderStats), Health Nutrition & Population Statistics (HNP) and Global Economic Monitor (GEM) databases.

  • UNData (a data access system to UN databases)

Access to over 60 million data points covering a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information & Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Global statistical information compiled and disseminated by the UN Statistics Division

Public use data archive from the NBER or are otherwise associated with the NBER research program.

Maintains up to date links to economic data releases from many sources.

Provides comparative statistical data by country, and includes thousands of directory contact details with click-through web links and a comprehensive listing of more than 2,000 international organizations.

Presents a wealth of statistical information on different aspects of human development.

Access to macroeconomic and financial data. IFS contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Also provided is access to a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators

A database of more than 61,000 economic time series from 47 sources maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Contains statistical information (searchable) on transportation in Canada, USA and Mexico.

A comprehensive collection of vital statistics for more than 200 countries highlighting the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world.

An International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Bureau of Statistics, provides data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories.

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

Contains data for EU-27, the euro area, EU Member States, candidate countries and other OECD countries. Also see Eurostat above.

From the University of Michigan - ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

An annual or biannual survey of China's urban and rural households designed to gather longitudinal data on social trends and the changing relationship between social structure and quality of life in China.

Funded by organizations that sponsor the research of the US Census Bureau's International Programs Center, the IDB provides a variety of demographic indicators for 224 countries and areas of the world. Included are estimates and projections of:  Birth, death, and growth rates, migration rates, infant mortality, and life expectancy, Fertility rates,  Total population and population by age and sex, Population by age and sex from national population censuses, Marital status by age and sex from national population censuses and surveys,  Contraceptive prevalence data from surveys and service statistics

Data includes health status, medical resources, health expenditures, costs and flow, and non-medical determinants of health from 1960 forward. Quick access to data by theme at https://stats.oecd.org/Index.aspx?DataSetCode=UN_DEN

Offers free statistical tables on a wide array of topics in; for example the Social Expenditure Database offers program level data back to 1980.

The Penn World Table  provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2007.

Compilation of currently available international statistics on gender, population and social development for 206 countries or areas of the world. It presents 76 tables, mainly covering the period 1970-1997, on nine subject areas: population, education, economic activity, household, marital status and fertility, health and health services, reproductive health and reproductive rights, public affairs and political participation, violence, and national product and expenditure.

Provides quick and easy access to freely available national, global agencies and research groups' web-based statistics.

A comprehensive dataset of over 1,000 searchable statistics and indicators for countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.

MarketLine Advantage

Browse by databases to access country statistics, global city statistics, market data analytics, as well as financial deals data, including mergers & acquisitions.

From the Data menu click on the Data Tool and select "All Viewswire" in Step 1, to access data on industries, markets and demographics, at the country, region and aggregate level, with forecasts out to 2030.

Survey datasets organized by survey and identified by the name of the survey. Also included with each each dataset are links to the reports released from that data.

A systematic data collection useful for systematic studies of the origins of conflict, conflict dynamics and conflict resolution.

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

From Refinitiv, provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

  • Eikon (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.

Access to financial information for 28,000 public Canadian, U.S., and International companies. Financials for 10 years are "as reported" and can be downloaded to spreadsheet software such as Microsoft Excel. Unique attributes such as financial footnotes regarding stock options, pension plans and accounting policy changes are included. Provides access to real-time EDGAR filings - i.e. US company filings.
The Companies/Markets section of Factiva includes corporate profiles, news releases, financial data and competitor information
  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

From Refinitiv, provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

  • Eikon

From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.  (Access Details: Single-User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).

  • MSCI ESG Research Data (Only accessible from a computer in Room 2030 - iLab.)

Provides access to a suite of environmental, social, and governance (ESG) research and analysis data. It includes data for the top 3000 US companies for the following issue areas and associated indicators; social, community, corporate governance, diversity, employee relations, environment, human rights, product, business involvement, alcohol, gambling, fire arms, military contracting,  nuclear power, and tobacco.

  • NexisUni
    NexisUni is the new interface for Lexis/Nexis Academic. NexisUni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources.

Provides an Excel export of an organization's sustainability report data.

Provides in-depth company and industry reports and data associated with the reports. Browse by databases to access market data analytics data, global city statistics and financial deals data, including mergers & acquisitions.

Provides detailed financial and employment data on more than 600 business sectors across Canada, including more than 30 performance benchmarks.

From Industry Canada, Canadian Industry information and statistics.

Counts of business establishments by: 9 employment size ranges, including "indeterminate" (as of December 1997); geography groupings: province/territory, census division, census subdivision, census metropolitan area and census. Available through DLI.

Provides access to current and historical data series collected in a wide variety of subjects by Statistics Canada and other governmental agencies. Updated weekly.

From the US Commercial Service, provided access to market research data for a variety of countries.
To access data on industries, markets and demographics, at the country, region and aggregate level, with forecasts out to 2030, from the Data menu click on the Data Tool and select All Viewswire in Step 1.

Includes access to the Production and Sales (MEI)' dataset and the STAN database for industrial analysis.

  • NexisUni
  • NexisUni is the new interface for Lexis/Nexis Academic. NexisUni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources.
From the Bureau of Economic Analysis, US Dept of Commerce.

Provided by the Enterprise Directorate General of the European Union

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place.

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

From Refinitiv, provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

  • Eikon

From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.  (Access Details: Single-User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).

Citing Data/Statistical Sources

It is important to cite not only the literature consulted but also the data or statistics used. The elements of a data/statistics citation include:

  • Author(s)/Creator
  • Title
  • Year of publication: The date when the statistics/dataset was published or released (rather than the collection or coverage date)
  • Publisher: the data center/repository
  • Any applicable identifier (including edition or version)
  • Availability and access: URL or other location information for the data/statistics

The following links provide you with useful guides to citing statistical data. Use these along with the citation style guide recommended by your instructor.