An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. This resource includes remarkable people from any walk of life who were connected with the British Isles, excluding living people. It includes not just the great and good, but people who have left a mark for any reason, good, bad, or bizarre. Our license specifies that only three people may use it at a time. If you are unable to gain access, the license user limit may have been exceeded, please wait a few minutes and try connecting again.
Killam Reference Room
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Killam REF D 114 D5 1982 (12 volumes)
Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000
Killam REF HN 373 E63 2001 (6 volumes)
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Killam REF CB 361 B43 1987
Encyclopedia of Russian History
Killam REF DK 14 E53 2004 (4 volumes)
Europe 1450 to 1789 : encyclopedia of the early modern world
Killam REF D 209 E97 2004 (6 volumes)
Histoire de la France Contemporaine
Killam REF DC 110 H57 (8 volumes)
International Historical Statistics : Europe, 1750-2000
Killam REF HA 1107 M5 2003
Medieval Italy: an encyclopedia
Killam REF DG 443 M43 2004 (2 volumes)
The Oxford Companion to British History
Killam REF DA 34 O93 1997
Trade, travel, and exploration in the Middle Ages :an encyclopedia
Killam REF HF 1001 T7 2000
Empire OnlineEmpire Online will have brought together over 70,000 images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library. There is both manuscript and printed material and a broad range of document types; written from both the European and the non-European perspective. We have also endeavoured to cover all continents. There are a number of documents included in Empire Online which relate the story of Empire from French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. The focus of the project is on original documents and thus a number of these texts are not in English.
Medieval Travel WritingThis project provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. The core of the material is a magnificent collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The original documents are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English. Supporting the manuscripts are relevant secondary texts of translations and editions. In addition there is a gallery of maps and images, a bibliography and chronology, and a slideshow.
Eighteenth Century journals I & IIThe Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1815 offers seamless, integrated access to Sections I and II of our digital project Eighteenth Century Journals. This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion. Eighteenth Century Journals I contains material from the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford. The Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center holds one of the finest collections of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals in the world, and it was from here that items for Eighteenth Century Journals II were selected.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)Full-text database that makes available more than 155,000 volumes and over 30 million pages of historical works in essence, every accessible English-language and foreign-language title published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.Please note: Library has access to Part One only.
Mass Observation onlineMass Observation Online offers access to one of the most important archives for the study of Social History in the modern era. This digital project is a multi-facteted resource, offering integrated access to the new online material, existing microfilm series, and the Mass-Observation Archive itself, allowing the user options to search across the entire Archive or by material available digitally. Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation whose papers provide insights into the cultural and social history of Britain from 1937 to 1965. The material at the Mass Observation Archive, and now on Mass Observation Online, offers an unparallelled insight into everyday life in the 1930s and 1940s.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. The project offers: * High quality greyscale images of many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images not available elsewhere. Some illustrative content is provided in full colour. * A powerful portal with links to other significant online sources approved by leading scholars. * A series of contextual essays by leading authorities from around the world. Each essay will have hypertext links to the primary sources it discusses.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910The study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture has now become one of the most vibrant areas of social, cultural and intellectual research, transcending traditional disciplinary boundaries. This exciting collection of original source material from British and European archives will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective. Thematic Areas * Conduct and Politeness * Domesticity and the Family * Consumption and Leisure * Education and Sensibility * The Body
ARTSTORThe ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/subjectguides).