LibGuides: Community Health and Epidemiology: Databases

Find Articles

PubMed - MEDLINE with Dal journal links This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic access to 4600 biomedical journals indexed at the National Library of Medicine. Coverage is international and dates from the early 1950s. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Search OldMEDLINE for citations from 1951-1965; citations earlier than 1951 can be found in the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index located at the Kellogg Library.
OVID MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
EMBASE This link opens in a new window There are over 17 million records indexed in EMBASE (1974-) and MEDLINE (1966-) with over 2,000 records added daily. All records are full indexed with EMTREE terms in 10-14 days. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms and codes; 80% of all citations in EMBASE include author-written abstracts. The EMBASE journal collection is international with over 6500 biomedical journals from 70 countries. EMBASE features comprehensive coverage of: Drug Research, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Pharmacoeconomics, Pharmaceutics and Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental) Basic Biological Research Health Policy and Management Public, Occupational and Environmental Health, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Biomedical Engineering and Instrumentation.
CINAHL Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL is a core resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window *Key database for Psychology*. Covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior. It is an essential tool for researchers, practitioners, and students in psychology and related disciplines. Provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, with a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases. Plain language summaries are also available. All residents of Atlantic Canada have full access to The Cochrane Library. Visit the Libraries' blog to learn more.
JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window Thank you to the Dalhousie School of Nursing for partnering on this subscription. The JBI is a recognized leader in evidence based information, and contributes to improvements in the quality and outcomes of health care through promoting and supporting evidence based practice. The JBI database includes full text systematic reviews, protocols, evidence summaries, best practice recommendations and consumer information and more. In addition it provides a variety of tools to help appraise literature, develop systematic reviews, create journals clubs and more. Please use the LOG OFF button to EXIT.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Evidence-based resources

EPPI-Centre (UK)
Provides access to a number of databases including Bibliomap (database of health promotion research), DoPHER (Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews) and TRoPHI (Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions).
health-evidence.ca
A searchable registry of systematic reviews relevant to public health and health promotion. The intent of the registry is to promote evidence-based public health decision-making.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Provides regularly updated information about US federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives information about a trial's purpose, participants, locations, and phone numbers for further information.
Health systems evidence
Health Systems Evidence is a continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Created by Cochrane Collaboration designed to provide evidence to inform health care decision making. Comprised of six databases. Updated quarterly.
TRIP Database This link opens in a new window
Searches Evidence-Based Records; Clinical Guidelines; Clinical Questions & Answers eTextbook Articles; Medical Images; Patient Information Leaflets & over 13 million Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

Metasearch Engines

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
The search engine from Google that retrieves information from books and the scholarly literature.
SUMSearch This link opens in a new window
Search several key databases simultaneously, such as PubMed (Medline), Database of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), Merck Manual, NIH Guidelines Clearinghouse, etc. to retrieve the best evidence on a given topic.
TRIP Database This link opens in a new window
Searches Evidence-Based Records; Clinical Guidelines; Clinical Questions & Answers eTextbook Articles; Medical Images; Patient Information Leaflets & over 13 million Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

Google Scholar Search

Search Google Scholar through the library to see links to full text held by Dalhousie:

Other public health and epidemiology resources

National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools
The National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT) is one of six National Collaborating Centres for Public Health in Canada. The NCCMT includes a registry for knowledge translation methods and tools for public health and online learning modules.

Community Health and Epidemiology

Medicine Instructional Videos

Stats Databases

News

Find Articles

Evidence-based resources

Metasearch Engines

Google Scholar Search

Other public health and epidemiology resources