The Killam Library has depository arrangements with the Canadian and Nova Scotian governments, the European Union, and the United Nations. However, most of the government documents available via the Internet are restricted to Dalhousie students, faculty & staff by IP address. The general public have to come into one of Dalhousie's libraries to access the information electronically (or in hard copy).
Chamber Business (from January 1994 to date)
Includes Debates (Hansard) and Journals of the Senate and the House of Commons. Available in hard copy under call numbers DOC 2FG X (House of Commons) and DOC 2FG Y (Senate) in the Government Documents Area on the second floor of the Killam Library. About Chamber Business offers useful descriptions of the various publications
Committee Business (from January 1994 to date)
Includes the minutes and proceedings of Standing, Special, Legislative, and Joint Committees. Committee business includes the consideration of Bills in order to report on same to the House of Commons and/or Senate. More background can be found at About Committee Business. The hard copy collection of the Committee publications can be found under call numbers DOC 2FG XC (House of Commons) and DOC 2FG YC (Senate).
The Killam Library forwards the paper copies of all pending Bills to the Law Library where they are kept until they become law. specifically, they are published in the "Assented to" Acts service, Part III of the Canada Gazette and the annual Statutes of Canada. See also the Consolidated Statutes and Regulations database on the Department of Justice for online, but unofficial, acts, regulation, and other legislative information.
Canada Gazette Official newspaper of the Government of Canada; the Killam Library forwards hard copy to the Law Library.
Part I notices, appointments, proposed regulations
Part II regulations and other statutory instruments
Part III proclamations of recent Public Acts.
The Killam Library has depository arrangements with the Canadian and Nova Scotia governments, the European Union, and the United Nations, although the move to dissemination of information via the Web has changed the emphasis to virtual collections rather than paper archives. First search Novanet to ascertain the shelf location of most government documents in the second floor collection.
The first character of the document call number is a geographic designation as follows:
| Region |
Call #
| Region |
Call #
|
|---|---|---|---|
| International |
1
|
Africa |
6
|
| North American |
2
|
Middle East |
7
|
| Caribbean |
3
|
Asia |
8
|
| South America |
4
|
Oceania |
9
|
| Europe |
5
|
|
Within this broad classification scheme there are subdivisions, first by country or organization, then by government agency or sub-units of an organization. Each of these subdivisions have corresponding call number designators. For example:
2FG - North America. Canadian Federal Government
E - Department of External Affairs
1 - Annual Report
Thus all documents from each agency are shelved together.
Most government documents may be borrowed. Certain documents are non-circulating. eg. House of Commons Debates or Statistics Canada publications. Documents that do not circulate have "NON-CIRCULATING" indicated inside the back cover.
