Skip to Main Content

Public Administration Research Guide

Welcome! This guide will point you to research resources for a variety of public administration topics.

All Business/Commerce/Economics/Management/Public Admin. Databases

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place. At Dalhousie we have access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals. Ten terminals are located in the Risk Lab on the 2nd floor of the Rowe Building.  Additional terminals are located in the 4th floor computer lab in the Rowe Building, as well as in the South Learning Commons in the Killam Library — you can’t miss their distinctive keyboards!

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons)

Provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

  • Thomson Reuters Eikon (Available only on campus on specific PCs and use is restricted to current FOM faculty, students and staff. Please email Joyline.makani@dal.ca  for access details (username and password).
Provides extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates. Thomson Reuters Eikon Access Details: Single-User license.
  • MSCI ESG Research Data (Only accessible from a computer in Room 2030 - iLab.)

Provides access to a suite of environmental, social, and governance (ESG) research and analysis data. It includes data for the top 3000 US companies for the following issue areas and associated indicators; social, community, corporate governance, diversity, employee relations, environment, human rights, product, business involvement, alcohol, gambling, fire arms, military contracting,  nuclear power, and tobacco.