LibGuides: Management Research Guide: Finance

Finance Research: Introduction

This guide was prepared by the Business subject specialist for the Dalhousie community. These resources have been selected as excellent starting points for academic research in Finance. For further research assistance, please contact Dr. Joyline Makani

Page Contents:

Related Guides: Finance, Company Research, Industry Research, Statistics & Data

Core Journals in Finance

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Canadian Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms (E-Book) Electronic book

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management This link opens in a new window The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers. Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.

Barron’s finance & investment handbook (Print Only) Available in print in the Killam Library at call # HG 173 D66 2003
The AMA handbook of financial risk management pt. 1. Introduction to financial risk -- pt. 2. Accounting, cash flow, and budget exposures -- pt. 3. Analyzing operating risks -- pt. 4. Relationship of risk and return -- pt. 5. Nature of a capital investment decision -- pt. 6. Factors that affect the value of a firm.
Handbook of financial econometrics tools and techniques. Presents a broad survey of current research Contributions by leading econometricians.
Handbook of international financial terms E-book - part of Oxford reference online.

Searching for articles or investment reports

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Access to abstracts and full text of articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Access to abstracts and full text of articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also includes current company, industry and region reports.
Mergent Investext This link opens in a new window Provides access to analyst reports for companies and industries from investment banks, brokerage houses and consulting firms worldwide.
Factiva This link opens in a new window The Companies/Markets section of Factiva includes corporate profiles, news releases, financial data and competitor information.
CBCA complete This link opens in a new window Provides references, and some full text articles, from Canadian journals, magazines, newspapers and business sources including over 130 Canadian industry and trade periodicals.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window NexisUni is the new interface for Lexis/Nexis Academic. The older interface will be decommissioned on July 31, 2019. NexisUni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources.

Stocks/Equities data

Factiva This link opens in a new window The Companies/Markets section of Factiva includes corporate profiles, news releases, financial data and competitor information.
Bloomberg Offers real-time trading data, company financials, market data spanning more than 20 years, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds, commodities, and other major markets all in one place. NOTE: Bloomberg is available to Dalhousie University faculty, staff, and students only. You must create log in credentials and a cell phone number will be necessary to authenticate a new user. At Dalhousie we have access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals. One terminal is located in the Killam Library, Learning Commons. Additional terminals are located in the 2nd floor and 4th floor computer labs in the Rowe Building.
Datastream Only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, Learning Commons. Access to current and historical international data on stocks, indices, bonds, commodities, futures, options, earning forecasts (IBES), economic conditions, interest rates, exchange rates, and economic forecasts. Minimum frequency is daily for financial information. Data is derived from national governments, central banks, the International Monetary Fund, OECD, major investment houses, stock exchanges, and Datastream's own researchers.
Eikon Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam Learning Commons and Rowe. Provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.

Company Financials

Mergent online This link opens in a new window Access to financial information for 28,000 public Canadian, U.S., and International companies. Financials for 10 years are "as reported" and can be downloaded to spreadsheet software such as Microsoft Excel.

SEDAR Provides access to documents filed with Canadian securities regulatory authorities by public companies and mutual fund groups. Filings from 1997 to present are available and include annual and quarterly reports, prospectuses, security announcements, etc.

Factiva This link opens in a new window The Companies/Markets section of Factiva includes corporate profiles, news releases, financial data and competitor information.
Bloomberg Offers real-time trading data, company financials, market data spanning more than 20 years, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds, commodities, and other major markets all in one place. NOTE: Bloomberg is available to Dalhousie University faculty, staff, and students only. You must create log in credentials and a cell phone number will be necessary to authenticate a new user. At Dalhousie we have access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals. One terminal is located in the Killam Library, Learning Commons. Additional terminals are located in the 2nd floor and 4th floor computer labs in the Rowe Building.
Datastream Only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, Learning Commons. Access to current and historical international data on stocks, indices, bonds, commodities, futures, options, earning forecasts (IBES), economic conditions, interest rates, exchange rates, and economic forecasts. Minimum frequency is daily for financial information. Data is derived from national governments, central banks, the International Monetary Fund, OECD, major investment houses, stock exchanges, and Datastream's own researchers.
Eikon Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam Learning Commons and Rowe. Provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.

Bonds

Bloomberg Offers real-time trading data, company financials, market data spanning more than 20 years, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds, commodities, and other major markets all in one place. NOTE: Bloomberg is available to Dalhousie University faculty, staff, and students only. You must create log in credentials and a cell phone number will be necessary to authenticate a new user. At Dalhousie we have access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals. One terminal is located in the Killam Library, Learning Commons. Additional terminals are located in the 2nd floor and 4th floor computer labs in the Rowe Building. Hint: For quick access use the GOVT or CORP yellow keys and for yield curves, type FMCI, then hit GO
Datastream Only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, Learning Commons. Access to current and historical international data on stocks, indices, bonds, commodities, futures, options, earning forecasts (IBES), economic conditions, interest rates, exchange rates, and economic forecasts. Minimum frequency is daily for financial information. Data is derived from national governments, central banks, the International Monetary Fund, OECD, major investment houses, stock exchanges, and Datastream's own researchers. HINT: To access bond yields (Yield - To Redemption), use the datatype code RY.
Eikon Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam Learning Commons and Rowe. Provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.

Bank of Canada Access to data on Government of Canada Bond yields as well as US Treasury Bill yields.
EMMA (Electronic Market Municipal Access) (USA) Operated by the US Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board (MSRB), provides access to municipal securities data and disclosure documents
Canadian Bond Yields: 10-Year Lookup Provided by the Bank of Canada
The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) Provides market data on a wide range of bonds, including bond market news, benchmark yields, bond market activity and performance, as well as transaction data, basic descriptions, and credit ratings on individual corporate, municipal, and U.S. Treasury bonds.
FP bonds. Government Provides access to outstanding publicly and privately held debt securities issued by the Government of Canada, the provinces and selected federal & provincial agencies. Includes Dominion Bond Ratings Service (DBRS) bond ratings. DAL Killam Library: (HG 5151 B648 )
FP bonds. Corporate Provides access to outstanding publicly and privately held debt securities issued by Canadian incorporated companies, including Dominion Bond Rating Service (DBRS) debt ratings. DAL Killam Library: (HG 5151 B65 )
Standard & Poor's stock and bond guide Access to monthly listings of financial and statistical data for US bonds including debt ratings. DAL Killam Library: (HG 4915 S655)

Mutual Fund data

Bloomberg Only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, Learning Commons and Rowe building. Access to current and historical international data on mutual funds (open-ended and closed-ended). Frequency varies but is typically daily for financial information and in some cases intradaily. Intradaily data is typically kept from 30 to 90 days only.
Datastream Only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam Learning Commons. Provides access to price data (Net Asset Value) for open-end mutual funds. Closed-end mutual funds are treated as regular stocks.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides Global Mutual Fund prices from over 80 Exchanges worldwide. Click Companies/Markets, then If you do not know the correct company symbol, click the Lookup link on the Quotes search page for a Symbol Lookup.

Globefund. Allows you to track and chart Canadian mutual funds performance
SEDAR Search for Investment Fund documents
Fund Library.com Canadian mutual fund database contains over 800 fields of information on over 8,000 funds and is updated daily with feeds from Fundata Canada.
Mutual funds fifty years of research findings
E-book
Mutual Funds Industry Profile: Europe This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
Mutual Funds Industry Profile: Global This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
Mutual Funds Industry Profile: United States This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
Mutual Funds Industry Profile: Asia-Pacific This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.

Futures data

Bloomberg Only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam Learning Commons and Rowe Hit the yellow CMDTY button. The commodity sector includes all exchange listed futures and options contracts of underlying financial and physical products. You can also search for specific commodity market functions if you know the commodity’s code: e.g. GCA to find information on Gold Futures. Extremely limited downloading capabilities.
Datastream Only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam Learning Commons and Rowe building. Provides access to up to date as well as historical international data on futures. Currently has futures data from the following countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, and the United States.
Eikon Provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates. (Access Details: available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam Learning Commons and Rowe).

Options data

Bloomberg Historical international data on options. Frequency varies. Intradaily data is typically kept 30 to 90 days only. Only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam Learning Commons and Rowe.
Datastream Select options data from the following countries and exchanges: Austria (OTOB), France (MATIF, Euronext.liffe), Germany (EUREX), Netherlands (Euronext.liffe), Switzerland (EUREX), U.K. (Euronext.liffe), and United States (AMEX, CBOE, CBOT, CME & PHLX). Only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam Learning Commons and Rowe.

Options Clearing Corporation founded in 1973, OCC is the world's largest equity derivatives clearing organization.

Exchange Rates

Datastream Provides exchange rates and other economic data. Coverage is international. Dates of coverage vary. Consult the "Indices, Interest and Exchange Rates" volume for details. On the program line type HELP ER? to get a list of codes. To change the currency default use the ~ followed by the code. For help on using exchange rates in Datastream see the guide. Available on specific workstations located in the Killam and Rowe buildings.

Federal Reserve Statistical Releases (US) Provides access to weekly, monthly and annual rates back as far as 1971. Limited number of countries.
Measuring Worth Provides yearly rates between the United States Dollar and Forty-one Currencies beginning in 1919. Also covers the Dollar/British Pound yearly rate for 1791-1999. Very good scope notes on sources and methodologies. Free site developed by economics professors.

Interest Rates

Bloomberg Provides financial, economic and government information covering all market sectors. Offers real-time trading data, company financials, market data spanning more than 20 years, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds, commodities, and other major markets all in one place. NOTE: At Dalhousie we have access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals. One terminal is located in the Killam Library Learning Commons. Additional terminals are located in the Labs on the 2nd 4th floors of the Rowe Building. Bloomberg is available to Dalhousie University faculty, staff, and students only. You must create log in credentials and a cell phone number will be necessary to authenticate a new user.
Datastream From Refinitiv, provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors. (Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).

International Financial Statistics (IMF) Contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas.

Commodities data

Bloomberg Only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam Learning Commons and Rowe. Hit to display a list of submenus for commodity market functions. You can also search for the contract table menu by typing CTM and then pressing and this will give you access to multiple commodities by section.
Datastream Provides daily, monthly and annual commodity prices data. Great downloading capabilities. Only accessible from dedicated PCs located in the Killam and Rowe buildings

Primary Commodity Prices: International Monetary Fund. Provides access to monthly commodity price data and commodity reports.
UNCTADstat Provides annual pricing data from 1960 to the present for various commodities often specific to a place

Major Finance Data Sources

Bloomberg Provides financial, economic and government information covering all market sectors. Offers real-time trading data, company financials, market data spanning more than 20 years, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds, commodities, and other major markets all in one place. NOTE: At Dalhousie we have access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals. One terminal is located in the Killam Library Learning Commons. Additional terminals are located in the Labs on the 2nd 4th floors of the Rowe Building. Bloomberg is available to Dalhousie University faculty, staff, and students only. You must create log in credentials and a cell phone number will be necessary to authenticate a new user.
Datastream Only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam Learning Commons and Rowe Building. Provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.
Eikon From Refinitiv, provides access to extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates. (Access Details: Single-User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs in the Killam North Learning Commons and Rowe).
Mergent online This link opens in a new window Access to financial information for 28,000 public Canadian, U.S., and International companies. Financials for 10 years are "as reported" and can be downloaded to spreadsheet software such as Microsoft Excel. Add / Reorder

Management Research Guide

Investing/Securities Industry News

Recommended Web Sites

Need Help