LibGuides: Management Research Guide: Accounting

Accounting Research: Introduction

This guide was prepared by the Business subject specialist for the Dalhousie community. These resources have been selected as excellent starting points for academic research in Accounting. For further research assistance, please contact Dr. Joyline Makani

Page Contents:

Core Accounting Journals

Dictionaries, Handbooks, and Encyclopedias

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers. Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides you with access to a selection of more than 1000 reference books and over 200,000 related images. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

https://dal.novanet.ca/permalink/01NOVA_DAL/1nek75v/alma990012725330107190
Print only
Handbook of cost management
Print only.

Search for Accounting Related articles

To retrieve the best results think about what your key words are before searching the following databases, e.g. accounting AND "financial reporting"

Tax Suite Premium - CICA This link opens in a new window
Collection of Canadian tax research materials with commentary from Ernst & Young. Includes full coverage of federal income tax, GST/HST and excise, and provincial taxes plus a daily tax email news service.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to abstracts and full text of articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to abstracts and full text of articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also includes current company, industry and region reports.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
The Companies/Markets section of Factiva includes corporate profiles, news releases, financial data and competitor information.
CBCA complete This link opens in a new window
Provides references, and some full text articles, from Canadian journals, magazines, newspapers and business sources including over 130 Canadian industry and trade periodicals.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni is the new interface for Lexis/Nexis Academic. NexisUni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources.

Company Annual Reports/Financial Statements

Mergent online This link opens in a new window
Access to financial information for 28,000 public Canadian, U.S., and International companies. Financials for 10 years are "as reported" and can be downloaded to spreadsheet software such as Microsoft Excel.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
The Companies/Markets section of Factiva includes corporate profiles, news releases, financial data and competitor information.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
NexisUni is the new interface for Lexis/Nexis Academic. NexisUni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources as well as access to international company financial filings (e.g., EDGAR, from the USA)

SEDAR
Provides access to documents filed with Canadian securities regulatory authorities by public companies and mutual fund groups. Filings from 1997 to present are available and include annual and quarterly reports, prospectuses, security announcements, etc.

BLOOMBERG

Provides financial, economic and government information covering all market sectors. Offers real-time trading data, company financials, market data spanning more than 20 years, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds, commodities, and other major markets all in one place. Bloomberg User Guide and Getting Started Cheat Sheet with Essential Codes

NOTE: At Dalhousie we have access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals. One terminal is located in the Killam Library, North Learning Commons. Ten terminals are located in the Risk Lab on the 2^nd floor of the Rowe Building. Additional terminals are located in the 4^th floor computer lab in the Rowe Building — you can’t miss their distinctive keyboards! Bloomberg is available to Dalhousie University faculty, staff, and students only. You must create log in credentials and a cell phone number will be necessary to authenticate a new user.

DATASTREAM (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons.)

Provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

Ratios/Benchmarking Data

Use the following resources to get benchmarking data at the industry level.

Financial Performance Data
Provides detailed financial and employment data on more than 600 business sectors across Canada, including more than 30 performance benchmarks.
US Quarterly Financial Report
Provides data for the following industry sectors as defined by NAICS: Mining, Manufacturing, Wholesale Trade, Retail Trade, and Selected Service Industries

Accounting/Consulting News

To read the selected news articles open Factiva and search for the title.

Website | Feed