Skip to Main Content

Economics Research Guide

Welcome! This guide will point you to research resources for a variety of economics related topics.

All Economics Databases

  • Bloomberg (only accessible from dedicated workstations in the Killam, North Learning Commons and Rowe)

Offers real-time trading data, detailed historical data, customizable market monitors, macro-economic data, news, and much more for stocks, bonds,commodities, and other major markets all in one place. At Dalhousie we have access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals. Ten terminals are located in the Risk Lab on the 2nd floor of the Rowe Building.  Additional terminals are located in the 4th floor computer lab in the Rowe Building, as well as in the South Learning Commons in the Killam Library — you can’t miss their distinctive keyboards!

  • Datastream (only accessible from a dedicated workstation in the Killam, North Learning Commons)

Provides access to significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Also provides access to ASSET4 ESG data which includes 500 metrics on more than 4,700 global companies covering environmental, social, and governance factors.

  • Thomson Reuters Eikon (Available only on campus on specific PCs and use is restricted to current FOM faculty, students and staff. Please email Joyline.makani@dal.ca  for access details (username and password).
Provides extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange-traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates. Thomson Reuters Eikon Access Details: Single-User license.
  • MSCI ESG Research Data (Only accessible from a computer in Room 2030 - iLab.)

Provides access to a suite of environmental, social, and governance (ESG) research and analysis data. It includes data for the top 3000 US companies for the following issue areas and associated indicators; social, community, corporate governance, diversity, employee relations, environment, human rights, product, business involvement, alcohol, gambling, fire arms, military contracting,  nuclear power, and tobacco.

 

Thomson Reuters EIKON & Thomson Reuters DataStream Help Information

Thomson Reuters EIKON with Datastream for Office provides extensive business and financial information for listed companies, including current data of exchange‐traded instruments (stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc.), news, economic data, commodity data, foreign exchange rates and interest rates.

Access Details: Single‐User license. Available only on campus on specific PCs and use is restricted to current FOM faculty, students and staff. Please email makani@dal.ca for access details (username and password). Dal has only one user access license so please remember to sign out after you finish using TR EIKON/Datastream.

NOTE from Dr Jun Zhou: The best way to learn how to use Thomson Reuters products is to watch their training videos. Their online support is also great. If you have specific questions, they provide support 24/7.

Database Tutorials

EBSCO Databases  

 

ProQuest Databases

 

Can't find the fulltext of the article you need?

First, have you checked Novanet to see whether the journal is available in the Killam library in print. If not then request a copy of the article from a different library by clicking on the relevant link below:

Novanet Express:
If the journal is available in a Novanet library use the Novanet Express service

Watch the tutorial:



Document Delivery Service:
Use the Dalhousie Document Delivery service to obtain materials from libraries outside of the Novanet system.

Watch the tutorial:

Document Delivery: Get books that are not at Dal

The book/journal you need isn't at Dalhousie - what to do?

Interlibrary Loans (Novanet Express Holds) or Document Delivery to the rescue!

First - is it in Novanet?

Items listed in Novanet may be requested via the Novanet Express service by clicking the "Available at other Novanet Libraries" option, then click "Sign in" to place a hold. You can choose which library you want the book delivered to when you sign in with your Dal Card barcode and 4-digit PIN.

Novanet Express requested items are guaranteed delivery within 3 business days.
You will be notified by email when your requested material arrives. All requested items are to be picked up at the Circulation desk.

Screen shot underlining "sign in" link on Novanet, under "Get it" heading.

Then click "Hold"

Screen shot with "hold" link, click on "sign in" to reveal this option.

Or, click on the Document Delivery option

Screen shot of the left-most column in Novanet item pop-up window, "document delivery" option is the second to last link.

Choose the "Document Delivery" option from the list by clicking the "Go" button will take you to the Document Delivery request form. The same login is required. The form will be automatically filled in with the information of the item you want but please check that the information is complete, add a "need by date" and any notes, click on the box next to the copyright statement and submit the request.

Screen shot of Novanet item access options. Click the "go" option beside document delivery.

Document Delivery requests filled by any Atlantic Canadian university library will also normally arrive within 3 business days. If the material is not locally available delivery times will vary. You will be notified by email when books arrive, pick up is available from the Dalhousie library of your choice.
*King’s users must use the King's Document Delivery service.

Articles will be delivered by e-mail link to your registered Dalhousie/King's email address.

If the item isn't in Novanet

If you searched for an item that didn't show up in Novanet, scroll to the bottom of the page and click "try your search in WorldCat."

Screen shot of the very bottom of a Novanet item pop-up window, under the "not finding what you're looking for?" heading, option to link out to WorldCat.

Then find the item you want in WorldCat, click on it, and click on "Request Item through Document Delivery." You will be asked to log in. This will auto fill the Document Delivery form. Check that the information is accurate, then choose your delivery location and "Need by" date. 

Screen shot of WorldCat web page item pop-up window, option to request item through Document Delivery under "availability" heading.

Or

Use the following link to Dal's Document Delivery webpage and choose "Patron Request Form." The same Document Delivery login and services as described above apply. Select the appropriate "Loan/Book" or "Copy/Article" option. Fill in the form and submit the request.

https://libraries.dal.ca/borrow/document-delivery.html