LibGuides: Commerce Research Guide: Scholarly Productivity (Publish or perish)

Funding Opportunities

Pivot‑RP
The Pivot Funding Opportunities Database is a comprehensive international database, available to all Dalhousie faculty, staff and students.
To create an account, select the second option "Use Email Address/Create Password." Select Dalhousie University from the Affiliated Member Institution list.

Grant connect This link opens in a new window
Access restricted to Dalhousie ON-CAMPUS users only. Grant Connect is an innovative and comprehensive tool that connects charities with funders who share their cause. It is the next generation of Imagine Canada's Directory to Foundations & Corporations, a beloved publication with a 45-year legacy in the charitable sector. The most accurate and comprehensive funding research tool in Canada, Grant Connect is a bilingual database with detailed, searchable information on thousands of major funders.

Contributions Program for Non-Profit Consumer and Voluntary Organizations
Funding for research on consumer issues by non-profit and voluntary organizations.
Innovation funding and support
Funding and advisory support for research and development (R&D), innovation and commercialization projects.
Energy, nuclear, and oil and gas research funding
Funding for research projects on clean energy, renewable power and energy alternatives.
Environmental funding
Financial support for environmental projects and for participation in impact assessments.
Aerospace, defence and security research funding
Research grants and repayable contributions for research in aerospace, space, defense and security.
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) - Funding Opportunities
Supports post secondary-based research, research training and knowledge mobilization activities in the social sciences and humanities.
International research and collaboration opportunities
Funding for global research and in support of collaboration with researchers from other countries.
Research network funding
Funding for commercialization, research and other business-led networks of centres of excellence.
Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
Funding for biomedical, clinical, health systems services and population health research.
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)
Funding for research and partnerships in natural sciences and engineering.

Publishing Avenues

Cabell’s Journalytics This link opens in a new window
Helps you to determine which journals typically publish manuscripts similar to yours or could be the best fit for your manuscript. Includes information on the style and format of most journals to further assist you in organizing and preparing your manuscripts, type of review process used by the editor(s) of a journal, type of review, number of reviewers, acceptance rate, time required for review, availability of reviewers' comments, number of copies required and manuscript topics.
Ulrich's Periodicals directory This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals. To find out if a journal is peer reviewed use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory. Look up the title of the journal and see if it has the Refereed symbol next to it (more detail is on the site).

Research Impact (Author, Article, and Journal Impact)

Research Impact measures the influence or importance of an author, article or academic journal. Resources listed below enable one to explore (1) author impact (citation analysis - comparing total # of the author's academic publications to the number of times these publications have been cited by other researchers), (2) article impact (tracking how an article is being used, shared, and discussed.and measure it's influence, and (3) Journal impact (measures which journal has influence as well as see publication and citation trends in a topic area).

Google Scholar Metrics

Summarizes recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research.Three metrics are provided: the h-index, the i-10 index ( the number of articles with at least ten citations), and the total number of citations to your articles.

Google Scholar Citations

In July 2011 Google introduced Google Scholar Citations: "a simple way for authors to compute their citation metrics and track them over time". Check it out and get started Tracking your citations and articles

Web of Science Citation Databases

Citation data collected from: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED); Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)

Scopus

Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Learn more about Scopus Journal Metrics, Author Metrics, & Article-level Metrics

Publish or Perish software program.

A software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents the metrics such as: # of papers, # of citations, Average citations per paper, citations per author, Hirsch's h-index, Egghe's g-index, etc.

ResearchGate

An academic social network that provides alternative metric information

Journal Rankings

ABDC of Australia Journal Quality List
A Journal Quality List guiding stakeholders — ABDC member business schools, and researchers in business-related disciplines in Australia and New Zealand — about quality outlets for research publication.
IDEAS/RePEc Simple Impact Factors for Journals
Ranking of journals in Economics provided by by IDEAS at the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis using RePEc data.
SCImago Journal & County Rank
Includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Elsevier Scopus® database.
Eigenfactor: Ranking and Mapping Scientific Knowledge
Ranks journals and shows their influence in particular subject areas along with visualizations of various data points.
ERIM Journals List (EJL) 2016-2021
Erasmus Research Institute of Management (ERIM)

The Peer Review Process

Article peer reviewing is regarded as an important element for ensuring quality in research.

Ulrich's Periodicals directory

To find out if a journal is peer reviewed use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory. Look up the title of the journal and see if it has the Refereed symbol next to it (more detail is on the site).

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities

Helps you to determine which journals typically publish manuscripts similar to yours, type of review, number of reviewers, acceptance rate, time required for review, availability of reviewers' comments, number of copies required and manuscript topics.

Where you publish matters: Learn more about open access & predatory (deceptive) publishing

The Open Access movement has resulted in an exponential increase in the number of new online publishers. Many of these publishers are very questionable (please be aware) and might exist only to make money off the author processing charges that are billed to authors upon acceptance of their scientific manuscripts. Consult the following resources to identity practices used by predatory publishers as well as lists of open access journals that re considered non-deceptive.

Identifying Deceptive Publishers: A checklist
Provided by the University of Toronto

Think. Check. Submit.
Choose the right journal or publisher for your research
Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing
From: The Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE), the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA), and the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME).
Cabells Journalytics
In response to the growing number of predatory publishers, Thomson Reuters shines a light on the deceptive practices that threaten to undermine quality research and presents the criteria that the Cabells Review Board uses to evaluate all journals suspected of deceptive, fraudulent, and/or predatory practices.
CRKN Open Access Journals List
A list of open access journals hosted at CRKN member institutions, maintained by CRKN with the goal of improving the discoverability of peer-reviewed Canadian open access journals. To be eligible for this list, a journal must be: open access, scholarly, peer-reviewed and hosted at a CRKN member institution.

Commerce Research Guide

Need Help