Skip to Main Content

Business Research Guide

Marketing Research: Introduction

This guide, prepared by the Business subject specialist, is designed as a gateway to the research needed to complete course assignments in Marketing Management.Click on any of the links below to jump to a section on this page:

Related Guides: Company Research, , Industry Research, International Business/Country Research, Entrepreneurship, Statistics & Data

Background literature search

Start your research by searching for related articles in the following databases. To retrieve the best results think about what your key words are before searching, e.g.:

hand-held computers and sales;
(banking or financial services) and industry and Canada;
publication title (American demographics) and (cars or automobiles);

consumer behavior and (trends or forecasts)

Industry/Market Reseach

The following listed resources provide an excellent starting point for conducting both business market and consumer market research for the Canada and the World.

Provides in-depth company and industry reports and data associated with the reports. Browse by databases to access market data analysis, global city statistics and financial deals data, including mergers & acquisitions.

From Industry Canada, Canadian Industry information and statistics.

Counts of business establishments by: 9 employment size ranges, including "indeterminate" (as of December 1997); geography groupings: province/territory, census division, census subdivision, census metropolitan area and census. Available through DLI.

Provides analysis and forecasts of the Canadian economy and financial markets. Also included are the indicators for the United States and key international markets.

From the US Commercial Service, provided access to market research reports for a variety of countries.

A practical reference guide to the specific operating conditions, commercial laws and business regulations in 55 countries.

Nearly 200 countries reports examining the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments, including detailed two-year forecasts.

LexisNexis provides access to thousands of news, business, legal, and medical publications and information sources. Included in LexisNexis under the business heading are company profiles, providing access to company-specific information, including bankruptcy reports and executive compensation information.

Provides detailed financial and employment data on more than 600 business sectors across Canada, including more than 30 performance benchmarks.

Provided for free by Wilfrid Laurier University, in collaboration with the Ontario Council of University Libraries (OCUL), nationally significant polling data, donated by market research firm Ipsos Canada. The data includes the Canadian Corporate Reputation Monitor I-Rep series data covering brand reputation, consumer preferences and market data.

Provides access to market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research. Please note: Thomson One only works with Internet Explorer (IE). And it works best in versions IE8 and below. It also works with IE versions 10 and 11 for Windows 7 (not compatible on Windows 8 or 8.1). If it is not working in IE v.10 or higher set to compatibility mode IE9. You can do this by clicking F12 once on the ThomsonOne.com login page and choose Internet Explorer 9 in the Browser Mode dropdown; then click F12 again to hide the lower frame.

  • Nielsen
From the Bureau of Economic Analysis, US Dept of Commerce.
Provided by the Enterprise Directorate General of the European Union

Competitive Intelligence

Search the the following resources to identify competitors, suppliers etc:

Provides access to in-depth global company profiles, including a SWOT analysis for the company.
Use the Company/Markets Search function to access pertinent information about a company and its competitors.
A comprehensive global company database providing access to detailed company profiles. Allow you to use a NAIC code to generate a list of companies within an industry.
LexisNexis provides access to thousands of news, business, legal, and medical publications and information sources. Included in LexisNexis under the business heading are company profiles, providing access to company-specific information, including bankruptcy reports and executive compensation information.
Provides access to market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research.
Please note: Thomson One only works with Internet Explorer (IE). And it works best in versions IE8 and below. It also works with IE versions 10 and 11 for Windows 7 (not compatible on Windows 8 or 8.1). If it is not working in IE v.10 or higher set to compatibility mode IE9.

Brands & Market Share

Advertising: Expenditures, Rates, etc.

Company Rankings