It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Legend for Resource Icons
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. Library has access to Pt. 1 and Pt. 2 only
This primary source collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves. Black Abolitionist Papers represents a huge effort by a scholarly team, headed by C. Peter Ripley and George E. Carter, who recognized that African Americans were a pivotal and persuasive force in the 19th-century anti-slavery movement.
The authoritative clinical microbiology sources, ASM's Manual of Clinical Microbiology (MCM), and Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook (CMPH), together with the classic text Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, have merged online to create ClinMicroNow.
Content in this database has been grouped around the areas of life in America impacted by the disease: Economics, Health, and Society. An additional subcollection entitled Global Impact has been dedicated to analyses of the pandemic's effect on the rest of the world.
Dalhousie’s subscription includes all current and historical standards in English and French with the exception of IT and Telecommunication standards. Additionally, Canadian Electrical Code & Handbook and B149 series standards are view-only. When you arrive at the CSA homepage, click on the CSA OnDemand menu option. Once you have entered CSA OnDemand, click on “My Library” to see the list of available Standards. There are two viewing options of available Standards: View English, which is the Web Viewer version (if you are using a mobile device, this version must be used), or the Download PDF version. The PDF version must be downloaded and then opened with Adobe Acrobat Reader rather than opened in your browser. If accessing off campus it is View Online only. PDFs cannot be downloaded. If you require more help, please go to the Support tab at the top of the CSA OnDemand My Library page and open the document called “University College User Guide”. Please note that for Colleges and Universities, printing and offline viewing is not allowed.
The award-winning Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
The Human Kinetics Library Core Collection combines Bloomsbury’s digital excellence with Human Kinetics’ market-leading sports and physical activity content, featuring an exclusive package of over 150 ebooks and 200 videos. This collection also includes "Human Kinetics Library Core Collection Update 2021".
IGI Global’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion e-Book Collection includes 114 e-books from more than 700+ international researchers. Titles include multi-disciplinary DEI research that span across 11 major subject areas, including business,
education, computer science, government, and social sciences.
The DETAIL inspiration online databank gives users access to more than 5,500 DETAIL project documentations from more than 55 years of DETAIL. By using professional search functions and filter options to find key terms such as building type, material, construction year or the topic of an issue, DETAIL inspiration supports architects both in their quest for solutions and in their daily work. With every new issue of DETAIL, the databank expands by the current projects in question. Furthermore, the projects can be organized and saved as needed in personal watchlists. Dalhousie's purchase provides access to the 1988-2021 Archives
Jus Mundi strives to make international law and arbitration more transparent and accessible. We use artificial and collaborative intelligence to collect and structure global legal data. By combining law and technology, we empower lawyers worldwide toconduct comprehensive international legal research efficiently.
Mergent Online offers a wealth of textual detail - the hallmark of all Mergent products - on descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long term debt and capital stock. Powerful intuitive search capabilities combined with an easy-to-use interface, access to risk, ratings, credit information and recommendations under one platform.
Dalhousie users have access to the SSH and STEAM D2O ebook collections only. After searching the site you will be able to filter by availability.
Key subject areas covered in the collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences. Ebooks are DRM free and offer access to unlimited simultaneous users.
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection 1 is now complete and contains 30 filmed performances.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers. Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Business and Management combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
Pidgeon Digital began in 1979 as a series of tape/slide talks created by Monica Pidgeon, the editor of Architectural Design from the mid-1940s to the 1970s. She wanted students of architecture and design to have the opportunity to share the thinking of world leading members of the architectural community, to whom they would not otherwise have access. In 2006 the illustrated talks were digitized. Pidgeon Digital is fully searchable and currently consists of 265+ illustrated talks and 200+ transcripts with new talks added regularly. Notable speakers include 17 Pritzker Prize Winners and 15 RIBA Royal Gold Medal Winners.
ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 47 of ProQuest's complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world
SAGE Research Methods Datasets provides an opportunity to master quantitative or qualitative data analysis and stem from research in Business, Education, Health, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology. Each title provides sample data, a “how-to” guide that explains the method and walks users through the analysis.