Welcome

Welcome to the Food Science guide - Faculty of Agriculture. You will find on these pages those resources most helpful to you when researching subjects in the area of food science.

Use the tabs on the menu on the left of the guide to find links to help you find books, journal articles, writing & citing help and more!

Quick Database Links

USDA SEARCH This link opens in a new window SEARCH is the USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to more than 7 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. SEARCH Everything for results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC). Formerly Agricola
Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window An international bibliographic database covering every aspect of food science, technology and human nutrition. Includes topics such as biotechnology, economics, manufacturing, legislation and commodity packaging. Also includes topics such as additives, beverages, cereals, dairy products and other food products.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Collection of over 2200 full text journals covering Agriculture, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Finance, Energy, Engineering, Environmental Science,Health Sciences, Immunology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Physics, Psychology and the Social Sciences. Search across all journals or subsets of journals, abstracts, databases, and reference works. Dalhousie users may register for free "alerts" services and other customizable options. Also included in ScienceDirect are over 500 full text books.

Research Methods

Looking for research methods? Check out SAGE Research Methods database. If you are off-campus, login with your NetID and password.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is an online collection of books and other full-text materials that provide authoritative information and multi-media on how to perform hundreds of research methods.