Journal Articles/Databases - Food Science - Faculty of Agriculture

Key Databases for Food Science

Find Food Science related-articles by searching some key databases:

Agriculture Science Database This link opens in a new window Previously known as Agricultural & Environmental Science database. This database contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation and Plant Physiology. Environmental content can be found at this link- Environmental Science Database
CAB Abstracts 1973-present This link opens in a new window Produced by CABI Publishing, CAB Abstracts (1973 to Present), covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Coverage dates back to 1973.
CAB Abstracts Archive This link opens in a new window CAB Abstracts covers the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Includes some links to full-text. 1910-1972. Hosted by OvidSP.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture This link opens in a new window A representative electronic full-text collection of agricultural texts published during the period 1850-1950. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crop protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals. It also offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window An international bibliographic database covering every aspect of food science, technology and human nutrition. Includes topics such as biotechnology, economics, manufacturing, legislation and commodity packaging. Also includes topics such as additives, beverages, cereals, dairy products and other food products.
PubMed - MEDLINE with Dal journal links This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic access to 4600 biomedical journals indexed at the National Library of Medicine. Coverage is international and dates from the early 1950s. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Search OldMEDLINE for citations from 1951-1965; citations earlier than 1951 can be found in the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index located at the Kellogg Library.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central is a web-based archive of journal literature for all of the life sciences. It is being developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). With PubMed Central, NCBI is taking the lead in preserving and maintaining open access to the literature in electronic form, just as NLM has done for decades with the printed biomedical literature.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Collection of over 2200 full text journals covering Agriculture, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Finance, Energy, Engineering, Environmental Science,Health Sciences, Immunology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Physics, Psychology and the Social Sciences. Search across all journals or subsets of journals, abstracts, databases, and reference works. Dalhousie users may register for free "alerts" services and other customizable options. Also included in ScienceDirect are over 500 full text books.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals, more than half of which are published in partnership with international scholarly and professional associations. Wiley covers the full spectrum of science, medicine, technology, business, social sciences, and the humanities, and includes many titles ranked at the forefront of their fields. Dalhousie subscribes to most Wiley journals but only selected books. Look for the "unlocked" icon which signals access.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases contain information on a variety of subjects and are a good place to search:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Comprehensive academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window Provides access to many databases purchased from EBSCO including: Academic Search Premier, America: History & Life, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, EconLit, Film & Television Literature Index, Gender Studies, GreenFILE, Historical Abstracts, International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, and SPORTDiscus.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search for academic sources using the Google search engine.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window This link provides access to the databases purchased from Proquest: ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Canadian Periodicals Canadian Research Index CBCA Complete ComDisDome Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) Dissertations & Theses @ Dalhousie University Environmental Science and Pollution Management ERIC GeoRef Index Islamicus International Index to Music Periodicals Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) PAIS Philosopher's Index ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source ProQuest Research Library Social Services Abstracts Sociological Abstracts
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Food Science Journals

Search for journals to find a comprehensive journal title list or to find a specific journal title.

Below is a small selection of the journals available at MacRae Library. Some of these titles are only available in print.

Food Science - Faculty of Agriculture

What is a database?

Off-campus Access

Key Databases for Food Science

Multidisciplinary Databases

Food Science Journals