Skip to Main Content

Scholarship @ Dal Libraries Series

Lunch time library series focused on research tools and resources

Evaluation Form Winter 2020

An Introduction to Citation Managers: Beyond RefWorks

As Dalhousie's subscription to RefWorks comes to an end, users may have questions about alternatives, and about how to move their references from RefWorks to another manager. This session will offer a brief overview of two major free products, Mendeley and Zotero, as well as Endnote (which must be purchased by the user.) Attendees will learn the basics of installing the product, adding citations (whether from databases for from a RefWorks account), and using them to insert citations and create bibliographies in your papers.

By the end of this session, participants will:

  • Have a basic familiarity with Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote
  • Be introduced to migrating references from RefWorks into another citation manager
  • Learn the basics of inserting formatted citations and bibliographies into their papers using a citation manager

 
Shelley McKibbon is an information services librarian at the WK Kellogg Health Sciences Library, and has been assisting users with citation managers since 2003.

Using Zotero for Citation Management

As Dalhousie's subscription to RefWorks comes to an end, users may have questions about alternatives, and about how to move their references from RefWorks to another manager. This session will offer an introduction to one of the major free products, Zotero. Attendees will learn the basics of installing the product, adding citations (whether from databases or from a RefWorks account), and using it to insert citations and create bibliographies in your papers.

By the end of this session, participants will:

  • Have a basic familiarity with Zotero
  • Be introduced to migrating references from RefWorks
  • Learn the basics of inserting formatted citations and bibliographies into their papers using Zotero

 
Shelley McKibbon is an information services librarian at the WK Kellogg Health Sciences Library, and has been assisting users with citation managers since 2003.

Data Management: Getting Started

The draft Tri-Agency Research Data Management Policy outlines expectations for institutions and researchers to promote sound data management and stewardship practices. One component of the draft Policy includes data management plans - what does a data management plan look like anyway, and why do you need one? This session will address advantages of creating a data management plan and the tools for creating one. If time, we will also briefly address platforms for sharing your data.

By the end of this session, participants will: 

  • Understanding the importance and utility of management plans for research data/materials of research.
  • Be able to build a data management/materials of research plan for a current project using the free, online Portage DMP Assistant tool.
  • Have an awareness of Dataverse and FRDR data sharing platforms.

 

Erin MacPherson is the Research Data Management librarian for Dalhousie and a research and instruction librarian at the Dalhousie University Agricultural Campus in Truro.

Using Mendeley for Citation Management

As Dalhousie's subscription to RefWorks comes to an end, users may have questions about alternatives, and about how to move their references from RefWorks to another manager. This session will offer an introduction to one of the major free products, Mendeley. Attendees will learn the basics of installing the product, adding citations (whether from databases or from a RefWorks account), and using it to insert citations and create bibliographies in your papers.

By the end of this session, participants will:

  • Have a basic familiarity with Mendeley
  • Be introduced to migrating references from RefWorks
  • Learn the basics of inserting formatted citations and bibliographies into their papers using Mendeley

 
Shelley McKibbon is an information services librarian at the WK Kellogg Health Sciences Library, and has been assisting users with citation managers since 2003.

An Introduction to Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Geographic Information Systems are software programs used to store and manage spatial data. This session will discuss the “science of where” by presenting the basics of mapping and spatial analysis. Expect an overview of software tools and data resources available at Dalhousie University.

By the end of this session, participants will:

  • Be introduced to members of our GIS & Data Services team
  • Understand how to access the services we provide
  • Meet future needs using current terminology and concepts

 

Gwen MacNairn is our Coordinator of GIS & Data Services for the Dalhousie Libraries. She has been an educator for more than thirty years. Before coming to Dalhousie University, she worked for ESRI in California, and while there co-authored Understanding GIS, a popular textbook used for teaching GIS concepts to undergraduate students in universities and colleges.