LibGuides: African Nova Scotian Health Resource: Social Determinants & Health Equity

Questions to Consider - Health Equity

What are health equities?
What are health disparities?
What kinds of political decisions affect health? Can you name them and how they affect health?
What are some factors that contribute to health disparities?
What are some groups of people that are more likely than others to be affected by health disparities?
What kinds of institutional or social changes are needed to tackle health disparities?

UN Report on anti-black racism validates experiences of African Nova Scotians
Canadian Senator, Wanda Thomas Bernard, says a UN report validates concerns of anti-black racism in Nova Scotia

We give credit to the University of Maryland’s Project SHARE for the content of this slideshow which can be found here: https://bit.ly/2MJCmVh. It is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

We give credit to the University of Maryland’s Project SHARE for the content of this slideshow which can be found here: https://bit.ly/2KNpywy. It is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

American - Division of Adolescent and School Health: Health Disparities
This American resource provided by the Division of Adolescent and School Health (DASH) shows how adolescents are affected by health disparities and provides useful information for maintaining good health.
American - Healthy People Website: Health Disparities
This American resource covers health disparities among its civilian population . Information includes the need for availability and access to the means of subsistence and how intersectional demographic factors inform these disparities.
American - MedlinePlus: Health Disparities
This American resources provides information about health disparities and includes access to American statistics and research, clinical trials, journal articles, and more.
American Psychological Association: Health Disparities
This American resource prioritizes the key areas for addressing health disparities and how they are caused by a complex arrangement of multiple factors.
Canadian Institute for Health Information: Health Inequalities
This Canadian resource addresses health inequalities (aka health disparities) and provides a wide range of Key Reports on this topic and a list of useful tools and resources.

American - Healthy People Website: Health Disparities
This American resource covers health disparities among its civilian population . Information includes the need for availability and access to the means of subsistence and how intersectional demographic factors inform these disparities.
Government of Canada: Social Determinants of Health & Health Inequalities
This Canadian resource provides a closer look at the social aspects of health inequalities and provides a three-point plan for reducing these inequalities across Canada.
Canadian Mental Health Association: Social Determinants of Health
This Canadian resource explores how mental health is influenced by the social and economic conditions that shape our lives and covers three key areas for political action to reduce health disparities.
World Health Organization: Social Determinants of Health
This resource provides a global context for what drives social inequities of health and how political decision affect health. Useful resources include a training manual and a self-instructional course.