Skip to main content

Music

A guide to the Music resources available in the Killam Library.

Research Bootcamp for Research Assistants & Teaching Assistants

Research Bootcamp logo

Register now for the 4th annual Dalhousie Libraries Research Bootcamp! Bootcamp sessions are free to Dalhousie graduate students.

Sessions will run from May 14-June 6 and will cover library basics; literature reviews (searching & writing); citation tools; writing abstracts & grant proposals; copyright, open access & academic publishing; legal resources; engineering resources; Pubmed & other health sciences databases; humanities resources; Canadian data & stats; grey literature; research data management; Excel; data visualization; conference posters.

Full list of sessions and the schedule
Free registration

Introduction to the music collection

Music collection

Music resources are located on the first floor of the Killam Memorial Library, to the right of the Killam Library Service Point Desk in the main lobby. In this one location, researchers will find music recordings, opera and recital DVDs, music scores, print music journals, books about music and music reference books such as music specific encyclopedias and directories.

Archival material

Archival material related to music in Nova Scotia is also available. This music guide provides a selection of music archives available in the Killam Memorial Library. See the University Archives' page on visual and performing arts archives for more information. 

Archival material cannot be found in Novanet. Search the Archives Catalogue. See the Guide to Archival Research for more information on searching and browsing the archival collections.

Archives must be accessed at the service point in the Archives and Special Collections Reading Room on the fifth floor of the Killam Memorial Library. 

Organization of the music collection

Dalhousie Libraries uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize music books, print journals, scores, and sound recordings into the following sections:

M (Music scores and sound recordings)

ML (Literature on music)

MT (Instruction and study)

Scores and sound recordings are classified using a slightly modified version of the Library of Congress classification system. Students and faculty can use this guide to browse scores and sound recordings:

Other library services

Core academic skills for students

Wrench icon

Students! Not sure where to start? Looking to get a handle on some core skills that will help you with research? Look no further!

Visit our Core skills for resources on how to research like a pro!