The Early Alberta Newspaper collection consists of a number of daily and non-daily (e.g. weekly) with a variety of different newspapers from different locations in Alberta. Dates range from 1885 to 2001 with varying degrees of coverage, depending on the newspaper.
The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province of British Columbia. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to Westward Ho!, date from 1865 to 1994.
Searchable database of all the issues of the British Colonist, published in Victoria, and considered to be the leading paper in the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants) from its first issue in 1858 to December 1920.
A database providing digital access to historical newspapers of Vanderhoof, BC. Includes the following newspapers:
The Vanderhoof Herald: 1917-1920; Nechako Chronicle: 1920-1983; Omineca Express: 1982-1989 and 1991-2007.
To celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Cariboo Observer, the Quesnel and District Museum and Archives initiated a project to create a digital archive and provide access to the newspaper on line. Currently the years 1908 – 2014 are available.
Part of MUN's Digital Archive Initiative, this searchable database includes a number of Newfoundland newspapers from various dates (Evening Telegram, St. John's Daily Star, Western Star, Southern Gazette, MUN Gazette, The Daily News) - advanced search features can be used to locate specific publications.
A database of searchable digitized newspapers from various regions and time periods in Nova Scotia. Includes: Nova Scotia Chronicle and Weekly Advertiser (Halifax), 1769-1770, The Royal American Gazette (Shelburne), 1785, The Port-Roseway Gazetteer and the Shelburne Advertiser, 1785, The Nova-Scotia Packet and General Advertiser (Shelburne), 1786-1787, The Bee (Pictou), 1835-1838, The Tiny Tattler (Central Grove, Digby County), 1933-1938, The 4th Estate (Halifax), 1969-1977
Acadian Recorder (Halifax), 1813-1853, Liverpool Transcript, 1854-1867.
The University Archives holds a complete run of the Dalhousie Gazette, dating back to 1869. The collection has been digitized and made available in DalSpace. It is an invaluable source of information about campus life over the years.
Searchable database of over 200 years of newspaper titles. 50 community newspapers are presented, representing over 97,000 complete issues, and over 1 million full pages of English and French content. This collection includes early Kingston newspapers (The British Whig, The Kingston Chronicle, and The Kingston Gazette), two abolitionist newspapers from Southern Ontario (The Provincial Freeman and The Voice of The Fugitive), and unique titles for topics such as Great Lakes shipping (The Marine Record) and visual sources for 19th century Canadian history (The Canadian Illustrated News).
This online digitized full-image version of the complete works of The Globe and Mail newspaper dates back to its inception as The Globe in 1844. The archive contains over 150 years of content from Canada's national daily newspaper, including every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice, and more.
This searchable digital archive contains full page images of each issue of the Toronto Star. Coverage includes news stories, editorials, photographs, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, and more. New content added every year.
Includes a digitized 1890-1957 run of The Charlottetown Guardian, the major daily newspaper of Prince Edward Island, as well as some other digitized PEI newspapers. The site also includes a directory of descriptions of all known Prince Edward Island newspapers.
Saskatchewan community newspapers, keyword-searchable (based on OCR), relational search capability, page view and article view. Papers are listed alphabetically by name of the community in which the paper was published. Search results may be filtered by date. It appears that the current content of this ongoing project is concentrated on the years of the first World War.
Includes a couple of newspapers Alberta and Saskatchewan, quite a few from Manitoba, and one from Newfoundland. Includes the Winnipeg Free Press, which provides substantial national coverage. Please note: this database is accessible only through a purchased subscription.