Skip to main content

History

a guide for study and scholarship at Dalhousie.

Key Databases and Journals

Reference Works

Reference materials include dictionaries, atlases, encyclopedias, indices, almanacs, and other similar materials. 

JJ Stewart Reference Room (main floor Killam Library) 

Reference materials in the JJ Stewart Reference Room are for in-library use only.

This is only a selection of materials on Canada in the Killam Reference Collection. Please visit the JJ Stewart Reference Room and explore sections E to F to see the full collection.

Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas - also available as an online reference work REF E 77 N62 1996
The Canadian Directory of Parliament REF F 1004.7 C3
Dictionary of Canadian Biography - also available as an online reference work REF F 1005 D49 1966
Références Biographique (5 vol) REF F 1005 H45 v.1-5
Who's Who of Canadian Women REF F 1005 W67 1997
Fitzhenry and Burnside Book of Canadian Facts and Dates REF F 1005 F58 2005
Canadian Encyclopedia - also available as an online reference work REF F 1006 C37 2000
Canadian History: a Reader's Guide (2 vol) - also available as an online reference work REF F 1026 C35 1994 v.1-2
Who's Who in Black Canada 2 REF F 1035 N3 W54 2006
The Exploration of Northern Canada REF F 1060.7 C66
The Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan REF F 1071 E5 2005
Historical Atlas of Canada (3 vol) REF ATLAS G 1116 S1 H58 1987 v.1-3
Historical Statistics of Canada - also available as an online reference work REF HA 746 L43 1983

 

Killam Collection 

Online Reference Works 

Primary Sources

Primary Sources: Canadian News Archives

Index of Newspapers on Microfilm