Skip to main content

Digital Humanities

This Digital Humanities LibGuide is an introductory resource and collection of periodicals, reference sources, key articles, projects, initiatives, tools, primary sources, and datasets that are useful for the study and practice of Digital Humanities

Discipline Specific Primary Sources

Loading ...

Primary Source Repositories by Place and Type

NovaMuse is a digital collection of holdings from Nova Scotia's museums across the province.

MemoryNS provides access to archival records from institutions across Nova Scotia     

 

Nova Story, an initiative of Pictou-Antigonish Regional Library, provides access to digitalized material documenting the history of the province      

The Halifax Regional Municipality Archives contains a variety of digital resources, most notably, the archives contains a repository of city council meetings minutes from 1841.

Dalhouise University Archives Online Finding Aid has several digital collections and digitized holdings relevant to Nova Scotia, Halifax, and Dalhousie University.

 

DalSpace Instituional Repository contains several digital collections documenting the history of Nova Scotia, Halifax, and Dalhousie University. It also consists of several special collections

Canadiana Discovery Portal is a platform where one cna search over 60 million documents and primary source materials in digital collections of libraries, archives and museums from across Canada.

Héritage is a catalogue of over 10 years of efforts in digitization of holdings and documentary material held Canada.

 

Early Canadiana Online is digital library that holds full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines and government documents.

Library and Archives Canada has several collections, databases, and other digital initiatives that provide online access to digitized content in Canada.

The Library and Archives Canada Digital Collections contains thematic digital collections of Library and Archives Canada holdings.

 

 

Europeana is an internet portal to digital collections, archives, and primary sources held in Europe

The Internet Archive consists of a variety of digital and digitized content from across the globe including webpages, microfilm, and more.

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Library of Congress provides access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services from Library of Congress holdings.

Artstor offers over 1 million high quality digital images in art, architecture, and archaeology.

OpenImages provides access to audiovisual archive material.

 

VADS or Visual Arts Data Service is a repository of visual arts materials and primary sources.

Old Maps Online is a repository of over 400,000 maps drawn from Libraries and Archives that can be visualized on an interactive map and searched.

A Vision of Britain Through Time is a collection of geospatial data and information including maps and place names about Britain including historical data.

 

David Rumsey Map Collection is ahistorical map collection has over 64,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of AmericaNorth AmericaSouth AmericaEurope, Asia, Africa, Pacific and the World.

NHGIS: National Historical Geographic Information Systems provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2014.

For more geospatial data sets please see the Dalhousie GIS Centre website.

For Digital Newspaper Repositories see the following LibGuides:

Newspapers

Canadian Historic Newspapers
 

Loading ...

Digital Libraries and Book Repositories