Resources related to graduate studies in the Marine Affairs Program. See also: Maritime Law Guide.
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2013
These databases will help you to identify journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, policy documents and other materials related to Marine Management topics.
- Web of Science
Indexes articles from highly respected journals in all subject areas (1900 to the present).
Provides full-text articles from 1995 to the present. Also indexes citations from 1800s to the present.
- Oceanic Abstracts
Covers marine and brackish-water environment, including all aspects of oceanography, aquaculture, maritime law, shipping, navigation and meteorology (1981 to present).
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Covers all aspects of the environmental sciences (1967 to the present).
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Covers the marine, brackish & freshwater environments (1960 to the present).
- Biological Abstracts
Covers all aspects of biology (1926 to present). You must enable pop-ups on your browser in order to see search results from this database.
The online library catalogue of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Contains references to "published and unpublished literature relating to fisheries, aquatic sciences, and nautical sciences...".
Indexes journal articles and reports on all aspects of geology and the geosciences, including petroleum, and oil and gas.
- Public Affairs Index (EBSCO)
Covering all aspects of global public policy issues, this database indexes scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Indexes articles, books, documents, and reports covering public policy issues (1972 to the present).
- Canadian Public Policy Collection
Provides fulltext of documents published by Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.
- Sociological Abstracts
Indexes journal articles, conference papers and books on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines (1963 to the present).
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly articles from around the world. To search for articles on a topic, click on Find Articles on left side of DOAJ screen.
Thousands of charts, graphs, tables and images, many from peer-reviewed sources. Each item provides the source of the information so that the image can be cited properly.
Full-text access to theses, journal articles, conference proceedings, and many other resources that are freely available from electronic collections around the world.
- Browse other databases...
Can't find what you need? The following databases may assist you in identifying books, government documents and hard-to-find, gray literature. Once you have identified an item of interest, you may wish to order it via Dalhousie's Document Delivery service:
AMICUS is a freely available database that shows the published materials held at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) & materials held by over 1300 libraries across Canada. On the Welcome screen, click on the "Search AMICUS" button.
- Coastal Zone Information Center Digital Collection (NOAA-USA)
"…provides full text access to over 5,000 US coastal management related documents covering the period 1972 through 2002 that were submitted by various coastal states to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).”
- Historical Statistics of Canada - Fisheries
Covering a period from the 1860s to 1975, these 142 tables provide information on quantity and value of Canadian fish landings, value of imports/exports, wholesale prices of fish and the number of fishers in the industry.
- History of Maine Fisheries Database
Includes archival materials from the 19th & 20th centuries such as logbooks of fishing vessels; sales, catch and landing records; and customs records. The documents were scanned from the collections of a variety of archives, libraries & museums in Maine.
Come visit the Killam Library!