Medical Apps for iPhone/iPod Touch
Some apps may be unavailable in Canada. Apple's Canadian site redirects to US app store. Check the store using your device for Canadian content.
Some of these may not require download but access through Safari on a Wi-Fi connection.
- H1N1 Updates Up to the minute news feeds on the H1N1/Swine Flu outbreak from sources such as CDC, WHO and major news organizations. Mobile access to publications and educational materials from reliable sources such as the New England Journal of Medicine and UpToDate Inc.
- Outbreaks Near Me A joint effort of Children's Hospital Boston & MIT Media Labs, this app allows the user to track nearby outbreaks using your device's location feature. Includes push feature, allowing you to receive most recent info updates via email. Also allows for reporting of cases.
- A Brief History of Genetics A brief history of Genetics gives a movable timeline to present the development of modern Genetics.
- Adult Body Mass Indicator Calculate your body mass.
- Bio Dictionary Covers most of general biological terms. Two methods are offered for searching. Terms and their explanations are audible!
- BMR Calculator Calculate your basal metabolic rate.
- Eponyms This is the iPhone version of Andrew Yee’s huge eponym database consisting of 1,600+ medical eponyms. See eponyms.net for more information.
- Genetic Decoder Simply tap to change RNA codons and related amino acid information will be displayed. Colourful pictures are available for every amino acid molecules.
- Google Docs Mobile View your documents from anywhere on your iPhone.
- iPharmacy A generic and name brand drug database that lets you browse thousands of drug descriptions, dosage, symptoms, side effects, and more, all from the palm of your hand.
- Lab Tests Reference ranges and notes on the clinical significance of the test are given when indicated.
- LDLCalc Estimates LDL-cholesterol from measurements of total and HDL cholesterol and plasma triglycerides using Friedewald equation.
- Life Record Electronic Medical Record The Life Record EMR (Electronic Medical Record) software is designed for physicians of all practice types to track all of their patient medical records.
- MacPractice iPhone Interface Accesses patient information and the office schedule and places it in the hand of a doctor.
- Medical Resources from Skyscape Skyscape content represents the gold standard in medical information. With over 500 trusted resources spanning 35+ medical specialties, Skyscape offers the broadest, deepest and most diverse portfolio in the industry.
- Medicopedia Consult the comprehensive database of more than 10 000 medical terms whenever you have a question. (French only).
- Nutritional Database iTap Nutrition for iPhone allows you to search and browse thousands of foods. For each food, you can see a complete nutritional analysis, including calories, grams of fat, carbohydrate, and protein.
- PedRad This tool puts online in a iPhone-ready format diverse multimedia documents focused to be a helping hand for the pediatric radiologist. The contents are created under a creative-commons license...
- Pocket First Aid Guide Will help you treat anything from beestings to burns to eye injuries while you are within range of the Internet.
- Sci-Calc A basic scientific calculator for the iPhone. Sci-Calc includes functions for factorials, square roots, powers, logarithmic, and geometric equations.
- Unbound MEDLINE Unbound MEDLINE provides instant access to more than 17 million journal articles so healthcare providers can practice evidence-based medicine right at the point of care.
Suggest & Share Resources with your Colleagues
Palm/Pocket PC/Windows Mobile
Purchase medical books & software for Palm, Pocket PC & Windows Mobile
Download books for recreational reading
Instructions & Help
iPod/iPhone/iPod Touch
Purchase medical books & software for your iPod/iPhone/iPod Touch
- QxMD (all apps are currently free. Includes medical calculators, quick reference, updates, translation services)
- Raybook: Resources designed for clickwheel iPods
Download books for recreational reading (requires download from app store first)
Instructions & Help
BlackBerry
Purchase medical books & software for your BlackBerry
- QxMD (all apps are currently free. Includes medical calculators, quick reference, updates, translation services)
Library resources with handheld options
- Diagnosaurus (Access Medicine) Free. Decision support tool with 1000+ differential diagnoses, searchable by disease, symptom or organ system. Palm, Windows Mobile and BlackBerry only.
Your Librarian |
Karen Neves (MA, MLIS)Online Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Public Services Office, 1st Floor, Kellogg Health Sciences Library, Tupper Medical Building
Find me on Facebook!
Send Email
Subjects:
Anatomy/Cytology, Biochemistry, Community Health & Epidemiology, Genetics, Health Informatics, Health Administration, Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Laboratory Medicine, Microbiology, Orthopedics, Pathology, Public Health, Rheumatology, Undergrad Med
![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Public Services Office, 1st Floor, Kellogg Health Sciences Library, Tupper Medical Building
Find me on Facebook!
Send Email
Subjects:
Anatomy/Cytology, Biochemistry, Community Health & Epidemiology, Genetics, Health Informatics, Health Administration, Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Laboratory Medicine, Microbiology, Orthopedics, Pathology, Public Health, Rheumatology, Undergrad Med
Description
Loading content... please wait


Submit a Link



Loading content... please wait