A guide to resources for OCEA 4160/5160
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2013
RefWorks is a software tool that helps you collect and organize references, and makes it easier for you to cite works within your term paper, project or thesis.
These databases will help you to identify journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports and other materials related to fisheries oceanography topics.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Covers the marine, brackish & freshwater environments (1960 to the present).
- Web of Science
Indexes articles from highly respected journals in all subject areas (1900 to the present).
Provides full-text articles from 1995 to the present. Also indexes citations from 1800s to the present.
- Oceanic Abstracts
Covers marine and brackish-water environment, including all aspects of oceanography, aquaculture, maritime law, shipping, navigation and meteorology (1981 to present).
- Biological Abstracts
Covers all aspects of biology (1926 to present). You must enable pop-ups on your browser in order to see search results from this database.
The online library catalogue of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Contains references to "published and unpublished literature relating to fisheries, aquatic sciences, and nautical sciences...".
- Dissertations and Theses
Includes citations for theses and dissertations, primarily from Canadian and US institutions, though some other schools are included. Dalhousie users can download the full-text of Dalhousie dissertations and many theses from 1996 onwards.
- Browse other databases...
Can't find what you need in the Novanet catalogue? The following databases may assist you in identifying books, government documents and hard-to-find, gray literature. Once you have identified an item of interest, you may wish to order it via Dalhousie's Document Delivery service:
AMICUS is a freely available database that shows the published materials held at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) & materials held by over 1300 libraries across Canada. On the Welcome screen, click on the "Search AMICUS" button.
- NOAA Fisheries Heritage Digital Collection
"...publications, letters of correspondence, research notes, scientific survey expedition logbooks, photographs, and published statistics relating to commercial fishing" from the U.S. Fish Commission (from the late 1800s to the early 1900s).