LibGuides: Data and Statistics: Planning

COVID-19 and Transportation

Transportation Association of Canada COVID-19 Resources
Public transit in a post-COVID 19 Canada
Statistics Canada COVID data
Search for your topic and click on the "Data" tab.

2021 Census - Data and Documentation

2021 Census of Population
Statistics Canada portal for the census.

Data

2021 Census Profiles
Available at different levels of geography. More variables will be added throughout 2022.
2021 Census Data Tables
Predefined cross-tabulations of several census variables.
2021 GeoSearch
Interactive mapping application that allows you to explore Statistics Canada's geography and find census data products available for specific locations at a specified level of geography.
Article - Canada first country to provide census data on transgender and non-binary people
Goes over gender diversity data in Canada. Includes tables and charts, most with 2021 data, and a list of some surveys from 2018 to 2022 that have included gender and sex at birth variables.

Documentation

2021 Census Dictionary
Concepts, universes, variables, and geographic terms.
Guide to the Census of Population, 2021
"provides an overview of the Census of Population content determination, collection, processing, data quality assessment and data dissemination."
Basic Components of a Table (video)
"This video is designed to provide viewers with a basic understanding of how census concepts (for example, focuses, population of interest and variables) are logically structured and to show different ways of looking at data. "
2021 Census Reference Material
Dictionary, guides, questionnaire, supporting documentation, technical report.

2021 Census - Maps and Geography

Census Geography
Statistics Canada geography portal for the census including reference maps.

Products

2021 Reference Maps (PDFs)
PDF maps of different levels of geography for the 2021 census.
2021 Boundary Files (geospatial software)
Different levels of geography for the 2021 census of population and census of agriculture in several formats compatible with geospatial software.
2021 Dissemination Geographies Relationship File
"Dataset at the dissemination block level that contains the links to all census geographic areas."
GeoSuite
Free software to view Statistics Canada census geography (2006-2021) and extract geographical codes. Online version.
2021 Halifax Urban Census Tract Maps

Documentation

2021 Hierarchy of Standard Geographic Units
2021 Census Dictionary - Geography
Definitions of geographical terms.
2021 Illustrated Glossary
Short illustrated definitions of geographical terms.
2021 Standard Geographical Classification
The classification structure allows you to navigate geographical codes to drill-down from regions to census subdivisions. The variants offer additional options.
Role of Geography (video)
"The objective of this course is to describe the role of geography in the context of the activities of the 2021 Census and previous censuses"
2021 Geography Catalogue
Contains references to all geography products and documentation including: population ecumene, road network file, geographic attribute file, etc.

For data about population, age, sex, dwellings, families, marital status, language, immigration and ethnocultural diversity, aboriginal peoples, education and labour, mobility and migration, language of work, income and housing.

Agriculture

2016 Census of Agriculture
The 2016 Census of Agriculture is the most recent measure of Canada's overall agricultural performance (Statistics Canada).
2016 Census of Agriculture Farm and Operator Data
2016 Census of Agriculture Historical Data
2016 Census of Agriculture Mapping Tool
2016 Boundary Files (geospatial software)
Different levels of geography of 2016 census of population and census of agriculture in ArcGIS, GML, and MapInfo.

Data

2016 Census Profiles
Available at different levels of geography.
2016 Census Profiles - Halifax Profile (CMA)
Includes HRM as a whole, and the province for comparative context.

Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Census Analyzer allows users to download data from the Canadian census at many different levels of geography.

Canadian Census Analyzer - Data by Dissemination Area
Explains how to use the CHASS Canadian Census Analyzer to obtain census or NHS data for a specific dissemination area (when you know its code or location).

2016 Census Data Tables
Predefined cross-tabulations of several census variables.

Documentation

2016 Census Dictionary
Concepts, universes, variables, and geographic terms.

2016 Halifax Urban Census Tract Map
2016 Hierarchy of Standard Geographic Units
2016 Boundary Files (geospatial software)
Different levels of geography of 2016 census of population and census of agriculture in ArcGIS, GML, and MapInfo.
2016 Census Profiles
Click on "Nova Scotia" to get a list of places organized by levels of geography.
2016 Standard Geographical Classification
Click on geographic codes to drill-down to other levels of geography.
Census Geography
Statistics Canada geography portal for the census including reference maps.
Dal Libraries Census of Population 2016 page
2016 PDF DA maps and ADA maps for Nova Scotia, and 2016 census documentation

Handout about 2016 PDF maps for Nova Scotia
How to interpret the geographical codes and where to download the maps.

GeoSearch 2016
Interactive mapping application that allows you to explore Statistics Canada's geography, view geographical codes, download reference maps, and download data tables.
GeoSuite
Free software to view Statistics Canada census geography (2006-2021) and extract geographical codes. Online version.
Scholars GeoPortal
Download boundary files from current and historical Canadian censuses.
Scholars GeoPortal - Halifax 2016 CT (slides and screen recordings)
Short demonstration (with no audio) on how to download a shapefile of Halifax census tracts in Scholars GeoPortal.

2011 Census and National Household Survey (NHS)

For data about population, age, sex, dwellings, families, marital status and language.

Agriculture

Data

2011 Census Profiles
Available at different levels of geography. Click on "Nova Scotia" to get a list of NS places organized by levels of geography.
2011 Census Profiles - Halifax Profile (HRM)
Includes HRM as a whole, and the province for comparative context.

Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Census Analyzer allows users to download data from the Canadian census at many different levels of geography.

Canadian Census Analyzer - Data by Dissemination Area
Explains how to use the CHASS Canadian Census Analyzer to obtain census or NHS data for a specific dissemination area (when you know its code or location).

Documentation

2011 Census Dictionary
Concepts, universes, variables, and geographic terms.
Random rounding
Why almost all counts end in a 0 or 5.

For data about immigration and ethnocultural diversity, aboriginal peoples, education and labour, mobility and migration, language of work, income and housing.

Data

2011 NHS Profiles
Available at different levels of geography. Click on "Nova Scotia" to get a list of NS places organized by levels of geography.
2011 National Household Survey: Data tables
These offer cross-tabulations of two or more variables, but only down to the CSD level.
2011 NHS Focus on Geography Series
Data on Aboriginal Peoples, Immigration and Ethnocultural Diversity, Education, Labour, Income and Housing at different levels of geography.

Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Census Analyzer allows users to download data from the Canadian census at many different levels of geography.

Canadian Census Analyzer - Data by Dissemination Area
Explains how to use the CHASS Canadian Census Analyzer to obtain census or NHS data for a specific dissemination area (when you know its code or location).

Documentation

NHS Dictionary
Concepts, universes, variables, and geographic terms.
National Household Survey User Guide
Suppressed NHS Census Tracts
Including suppressed census tracts 4.2 and 8 in downtown Halifax.
Suppressed NHS Census Subdivisions

2011 Boundary Files (geospatial software)
Different levels of 2011 Statistics Canada geography in ArcGIS, GML, and MapInfo.
Census Geography
Statistics Canada geography portal for the census including reference maps.
2011 Census Profiles
Click on "Nova Scotia" to get a list of places organized by levels of geography.
GeoSuite
Free software to view Statistics Canada census geography (2006-2021) and extract geographical codes. Online version.
2011 Halifax Urban Census Tract Map
2011 Hierarchy of Standard Geographic Units
2011 Standard Geographical Classification
Click on geographic codes to drill-down to other levels of geography.
Scholars GeoPortal
Download boundary files from current and historical Canadian censuses.

2001 and 2006 Census

Agriculture

2001 Census of Agriculture

Census Data

Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Census Analyzer allows users to download data from the Canadian census at many different levels of geography.

2001 Aboriginal Population Profiles
2001 Community Profiles
Free selection of variables for individual Census Divisions (CDs), Census Subdivisions (CSDs), Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs), Health Regions, and Indian Reserves and settlements.
2001 Federal Electoral District (FED) Profiles
Free selection (not all) of variables for the 308 FEDs, or ridings, which elect members to the House of Commons.

Documentation

2001 Census Dictionary
Census Handbook
Random rounding, area suppression, questionnaire, etc.

Agriculture

2006 Census of Agriculture

Census Data

Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Census Analyzer allows users to download data from the Canadian census at many different levels of geography.

2006 Aboriginal Population Profile
2006 Census Tract Profiles
Small, relatively stable geographic areas that usually have a population of 2,500 to 8,000. They are identified using seven-character numeric 'names' (e.g., 0005.00) and are located in census metropolitan areas (CMAs) and larger census agglomerations (CAs).
2006 Community Profiles
To find selected variables for a single Census Subdivision (CSD), which are municipalities, reserves, parishes etc. If you put in a place name for a small unit it will offer you the larger geographic unit. For example, Bedford > HRM.
2006 Complete Cumulative Profiles
For all variables for a single location in EXCEL format and/or all variables for all geographic units in Beyond 20/20 format.
2006 Federal Electoral District (FED) Profiles
2006 Public Use Microdata Files (PUMF)
Find the 2006 census PUMF in the census analyzer or in SDA.
2006 Topic-Based Tabulations
Standard cross-tabulations.

Documentation

2006 Census Dictionary
Covers many topics, including the difference between an economic family and a census family, and why you need to be aware of random rounding.
2006 Census Questionnaires (short and long)
The census information is collected either from 100% of the population or on a 20% sample basis (from a random sample of one in five households) with the data weighted up to provide estimates for the entire population.
more...less...
For any given geographic area, the weighted population, household, dwelling or family total or subtotal may differ from that shown in reports containing data collected on a 100% basis. Such variation (in addition to the effect of random rounding) will be due to sampling. Note that, on Indian reserves and in remote areas, most data were collected on a 100% basis.

Maps and Geography

2006 Boundary Files (Geospatial Files)
2006 Census Tracts - Halifax Urban
Census tracts (CTs) are small, relatively stable geographic areas that usually have a population of 2,500 to 8,000. They are located in census metropolitan areas and in census agglomerations with an urban core population of 50,000 or more.
2006 Census Tracts - Halifax Rural
Census tracts outside the urban core.
2006 CSD and CDs - Nova Scotia
Census Subdivisions (towns, villages, municipal districts etc) and Census Divisions (counties).
2006 Dissemination Areas - Halifax
Can only be retrieved with the census tract code.
2006 Dissemination Areas - Nova Scotia
Retrievable by CSD.
2006 Dissemination Areas for Census Agglomerations - Nova Scotia
2006 Reference Maps
Scholars GeoPortal
Download boundary files from current and historical Canadian censuses.

Tutorials - Restricted interfaces for accessing or viewing Stat Can microdata

Canadian Census Analyser

The Canadian Census Analyser allows you to quickly extract data from census profiles, from 1961 to 2016, as well as access microdata from the census not available on Statistic Canada's website. Find the census profile section or the "data to map" series of slides and screen recordings on this page for information about accessing and downloading 2021 census data.

Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
Access the interface.

Canadian Census Analyser - 2011 CD version (Slides and screen recordings)
Short demonstration (with no audio) of how to access the Canadian Census Analyser and how to download data by census division.

Canadian Census Analyser - Data by Dissemination Area
Explains how to use the CHASS Canadian Census Analyzer to obtain census or NHS data for a specific dissemination area (when you know its code or location).
Census Analyser Exercise
Use the Canadian Census Analyser to look at levels of higher education achieved across Nova Scotia by Census Division.

Using Excel with the Canadian Census Analyser (Slides and screen recordings)
Short demonstration (with no audio) on how to use Excel to work with files generated from the Canadian Census Analyzer.

Census Analyser Excel Exercise
Format the file obtained in the Canadian Analyser Exercise in Excel.

Odesi

Dalhousie does not subscribe to Odesi, but you can use it to do a variable search for Statistics Canada microdata available in the DLI collection. One important exception: microdata from many CORA opinion polls are available for download in Odesi.

Odesi (search only)
Access the interface.

Odesi (PDF Presentation)
How to search metadata of Public Use Microdata Files (PUMFs) in Odesi.
Odesi exercise - Smoking version
Locate microdata surveys with a variable about smoking in Odesi.
Odesi Exercise - Unemployment version
Locate microdata surveys about unemployment in Odesi.

SDA

SDA allows you to download microdata from Statistics Canada's surveys, and also to create online cross-tabs.

SDA@CHASS This link opens in a new window
Access the interface.

SDA (PDF Presentation)
Quick summary of how to access SDA and available instructional material.

Accessing SDA@CHASS (video)
Video showing how to download a microdata dataset from Statistics Canada in the SDA interface.
Using SDA@CHASS to View Data (video)
How to create online cross-tabs from Statistics Canada microdata using SDA@CHASS.

SDA Exercise - CCHS
Create online cross-tab tables and download the Canadian Community Health Survey in SDA.
SDA Exercise - CCHS - Answers
SDA Exercise - SLID
Create online cross-tab tables and download the Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics in SDA

Other Interfaces for Finding Data or Statistics

Google

Many datasets are publicly discoverable on Google. Try one of the following exercises to practice special search techniques such as using the site: and filetype:operators to do very effective searches.

Google Data Exercise - Aquaculture version
Use effective Google search techniques to find Canadian aquaculture statistics.
Google Data Exercise - Hypertension version
Use effective Google search techniques to find high blood pressure statistics.
Google Data Exercise - Patent version
Use effective Google search techniques to find statistics on Canadian patents.
Google Data Exercise - Geospatial Pipeline version
Use effective Google searches to decide whether or not to install a pipeline in the middle of campus.
Google Data Exercise - Road Version
Help Bert and Grover find road and traffic data for NS and Halifax
Google Data Exercise - Seniors version
Use effective Google search techniques to find data on Canadian seniors.
Google Data Exercises - Stress and anxiety version
Use effective Google search techniques to find Canadian stress and anxiety statistics.
Google Data Exercises - Stress and anxiety version - Answer

Halifax Open Data Catalogue

The Halifax Open Data Catalogue contains many downloadable datasets of interest to the HRM community. The interface also allows you to filter and visualize data online.

HRM Open Data Exercise
Solve the mystery of the sandwich theft by examining crime data in HRM's Data Catalogue.
HRM Open Data Exercise - Answers

Nova Scotia Open Data Portal

The Nova Scotia Open Data Portal contains many datasets. I recommend downloading these datasets, but it's also possible to do some data visualization online.

Nova Scotia Open Data Exercise - Child Care version
Find child care data in the Nova Scotia data portal.
Nova Scotia Open Data Supplementary Exercise - Child Care version
Excel file to be used with slides containing screen recordings showing how to format and analyze child care data.

Nova Scotia Open Data Supplementary Exercise - Child Care version (Slides and screen recording)
Follow the steps from these slides using the provided csv file to format and analyze child care data taken from the Nova Scotia Open Data Portal.

Nova Scotia Open Data Exercise - Public Housing version
Find data on public housing for seniors in the Nova Scotia data portal.
Nova Scotia Open Data Supplementary Exercise - Public Housing version
Excel file to be used with slides with screen recordings showing how to format and analyze data on public housing for seniors.

Nova Scotia Open Data Supplementary Exercise - Public Housing version (Slides and recordings)
Follow the steps from these slides using the provided csv file to format and analyze senior public housing data taken from the Nova Scotia Open Data Portal.

Nova Scotia Open Data Exercise - Absenteeism version
Find data on absenteeism in the Nova Scotia data portal.

Stat Can's Census Profile and Data Tables

More recent census profiles are also available through the Census Analyser through to 2016.

Canadian Census (PDF Presentation)
Learn how to access the Canadian Census' profiles and data tables.
2021 Census Profile Exercise
Help someone seeking to establish themselves in Halifax by examining data from the 2021 Census Profile.
2021 Census Profile - Answers
2016 Census Profile Exercise
Help someone seeking to establish themselves in Halifax by examining data from the 2016 Census Profile.
2011 NHS Profile Exercise
Help a law firm seeking to establish itself in Halifax by examining data from the 2011 NHS Profile.

HRM data

You'll find links to a few more HRM resources on the Nova Scotia page.

Halifax Crime Mapping
RCMP database of recently committed crimes.
2001 Halifax Crime by Census Tract
See bottom of page
HRM Polling District Maps
HRM Planning Docs
Metro Transit Maps
Search HRM Archives

Nova Scotia

You'll find links to a few more resources on the Nova Scotia page.

Municipal finance and statistics
Financial, demographic and other indicators for each municipality in Nova Scotia.
Nova Scotia Statistical Review 2007
print copies are available for most years back to 1970 and can be borrowed --- Killam second floor: 2CP NS F 2.23
Atlantic Provinces Business Directory.
Killam Reference Desk HF 5072 A74 A84
HRL Spring Garden Reference 670.58 C21.N9at
Only business directory for small towns, including Mahone Bay --- compiled from telephone directories
Directory of Schools in Nova Scotia
Neighbourhood Characteristics and the Distribution of Crime: Edmonton Halifax and Thunder Bay
crime by census tracts for 2001 only

Maps and geography

Consider consulting the GISciences Centre for additional help and information. See also GISciences Centre's In-house Data and the geospatial data page for more maps and geospatial data.

Nova Scotia Only

2021 Halifax Urban Census Tract Maps
2016 Halifax Urban Census Tract Map
Dal Libraries Census of Population 2016 page
2016 PDF DA maps and ADA maps for Nova Scotia, and 2016 census documentation

Handout about 2016 PDF maps for Nova Scotia
How to interpret the geographical codes and where to download the maps.

Explore HRM
Apply layers to identify features such as fire stations, zoning, wet lands, etc.
GeoNOVA
Nova Scotia Civic Address File
Searching and mapping.

Canada

2021 Census - Maps and Geography
Collection of links to census geography products including reference (PDF) maps, boundary files (geospatial software), agriculture boundary files, etc.
Census page
More on census geography prior to 2021.
Scholars GeoPortal
Download boundary files from current and historical Canadian censuses.
Scholars GeoPortal - Halifax 2016 CT (slides and screen recordings)
Short demonstration (with no audio) on how to download a shapefile of Halifax census tracts in Scholars GeoPortal.
Health Regions
Reference maps (PDF) and boundary files (geospatial software) for health regions by province. Click on the most recent entry, select "Table of Contents".
Census of Agriculture - Reference Maps
PDF maps for the census of agriculture.

Interfaces for accessing or viewing Stat Can data

Beyond 20/20

When downloading census data from Statistics Canada's website, ".ivt" or Beyond 20/20 files are a better alternative to ".csv" or Excel files because you can easily format your table before exporting data back to Excel-compatible formats. Windows only.

Beyond 20/20 (Slides and recordings)
Short demonstration of the capabilities of Beyond 20/20 (with no audio). Now only available for the census, no longer compatible with CANSIM tables.

Beyond 20/20 (PDF Presentation)
How to use the free Beyond 20/20 browser to explore Statistics Canada data. Now only available for the census, no longer available for CANSIM tables.
Beyond 20/20 Exercise
Find Canadians that are 100+ years old by province by rearranging a table in Beyond 20/20 (Windows only).

Interactive Data Tables

CANSIM tables have been replaced by interactive data tables available on Statistics Canada's website which can be used to quickly view numbers online. Make sure to click on "Add/Remove" data to see all the options.

Stat Can Data Tables (PDF Presentation)
How to search and access Stat Can data tables.

Navigating StatCan's Data Tables (video)
Video from Wilfrid Laurier University about navigating Stat Can's new data tables and extracting data.

StatCan Data Table Exercise - Divorce version
Find the number of divorce cases with support in Nova Scotia in a Statistics Canada Data Table.
StatCan Data Table Exercise - Divorce version - Answer
StatCan Data Table Exercise - Food version
Compare purchases of butter versus margarine in Nova Scotia by exploring a Statistics Canada table.
StatCan Data Table Exercise - Food version - Answer
StatCan Data Table Exercise - Seniors version
Find data on seniors' mental health and sense of belonging in a Statistics Canada data table.

PLAN 2007

Slides

Exercises

2021 Census Profile Exercise
Help someone seeking to establish themselves in Halifax by examining data from the 2021 Census Profile.
GeoSearch 2021 Exercise
Help a time traveller find out the Census Tract they are located in.