Medical Sciences

"This textbook presents concise chapters written by internationally respected experts on various important aspects of cancer-associated metabolism, offering a comprehensive overview of the central features of this exciting research field. The discovery that tumor cells display characteristic alterations of metabolic pathways has significantly changed our understanding of cancer: while the first description of tumor-specific changes in cellular energetics was published more than 90 years ago, the causal significance of this observation for the pathogenesis of cancer was only discovered in the post-genome era."

"This book reviews the recent advances regarding the functions of the autophagy pathway and autophagy proteins in immunity and inflammation, focusing on their role in self-nonself distinction, their implications in innate and adaptive immune responses and their dysregulation in the pathology of certain inflammatory and autoimmune diseases."

"This volume of Advances Anatomy Embryology and Cell Biology focuses on the emerging field of bio-image informatics, presenting novel and exciting ways of handling and interpreting large image data sets. A collection of focused reviews written by key players in the field highlights the major directions and provides an excellent reference work for both young and experienced researchers."

"Provides a single reference for all FNAC queries. Lavishly illustrated with FNAC smears classified by their microscopic pattern. Includes examples of air-dried, wet-fixed and liquid-based specimens, relevant to pathologists around the world"

"This book describes the structures of Metallothionein (MT) family members and the cellular functions of MT-1, MT-2 and MT-4 isoforms, as well as provides insights into divergent biological roles of MT-3. The authors explain the involvement of MT molecules in various processes related to carcinogenesis, including an organ-specific presentation of current data concerning their potential impact on the progression of various tumors and the regulatory role of MT family members in the function of the immune system."

"This second edition of Medical Biochemistry is supported by more than 45 years of teaching experience, providing coverage of basic biochemical topics, including the structural, physical, and chemical properties of water, carbohydrates, lipids, proteins, and nucleic acids. In addition, the general aspects of thermodynamics, enzymes, bioenergetics, and metabolism are presented in straightforward and easy-to-comprehend language."

"Whether you are following a problem-based, an integrated, or a more traditional medical course, clinical biochemistry is often viewed as one of the more challenging subjects to grasp. What you need is a single resource that not only explains the biochemical underpinnings of metabolic medicine, but also integrates laboratory findings with clinical p."

"This book provides medical professionals and researchers with a comprehensive overview of fundamental concepts and recent advances in neurochemistry, and offers new perspectives for all those involved with research in related disciplines. As drug discovery for neurodegenerative diseases is one of the largest subspecialties in the field of medicine, the book addresses topics that transcend the borders between disciplines, and presents a wealth of investigations into and discussions on critical questions relevant to the entire field of CNS drug research. It summarizes the available data on the fundamentals of neurotransmitters, treatment of and advanced care for neurodegenerative diseases; and outlines current and future research directions in this field."

"This book is a practical guidebook in biochemistry, for medical as well as life sciences' students. The book covers reference values, sample collection procedure and detailed protocol to perform experiments. Each experiment starts with a brief introduction of the protocol, followed by specimen requirements and procedure. The procedures are presented in a very lucid manner and discuss details of calculations and clinical interpretations,The book is divided into 29 chapters, It offers references, general guidelines and abbreviations and provides principles and procedures of clinical biochemistry tests, along with their diagnostic importance."

"Bringing this best-selling textbook right up to date, the new edition uniquely integrates the theories and methods that drive the fields of biology, biotechnology and medicine, comprehensively covering both the techniques students will encounter in lab classes and those that underpin current key advances and discoveries."

"The development of DNA sequencing techniques, such as the sequencing gel on the cover, opened up a world of possibilities in the field of genetics. This ultimately led to the sequencing of the entire human genome, perhaps the greatest problem ever solved!" "Principles of Genetics, 5th Edition provides you with all the tools you need to solve the problems In this course and be successful."

"Essential Medical Genetics provides students, clinicians, counsellors and scientists with the up-to-date information they need regarding the basic principles underlying medical genetics. It also provides guidance on how to apply current knowledge in clinical contexts, covering a wide variety of topics: from genome structure and function to mutations, screening and risk assessment for inherited disorders."

"This comprehensive volume explores human genetic engineering its pre-clinical and clinical applications, current developments, and as treatment for hereditary diseases. It presents and evaluates the most recent advances in the understanding of mammalian host DNA repair mechanisms, such as double-strand break induced gene targeting and mutagenesis, the development of zinc-finger nucleases, genome editing for neuromuscular diseases, phase integrases, triplex forming oligonucleotides and peptide nucleic acids, aptamer-guided gene targeting, AAV gene editing via DSB repair, engineered nucleases and trinucleotide repeat diseases, and creation of HIV-resistant cells. The expertly authored chapters contextualize current developments within the history of genome editing while also discussing the current and potential safety concerns of this rapidly growing field."

"Wrestling with Behavioral Genetics brings together an interdisciplinary group of contributors - geneticists, humanists, social scientists, lawyers, and journalists - to discuss the ethical and social implications of behavioral genetics research. The essays give readers the necessary tools to critically analyze the findings of behavioral geneticists, explore competing interpretations of the ethical and social implications of those findings, and engage in a productive public conversation about them."

This book unravels the recent studies in the field of medical genetics. Also included herein is a detailed explanation of the role of genetics in the incidence of varied diseases and disorders. For all readers who are interested in medical genetics, the case studies included in this book will serve as an excellent guide to develop a comprehensive understanding.

"Provides ready reference to immunohistochemical and cytogenetic markers with their interpretation. Contains more than 2000 photographs along with concise microscopic description and interpretation

"Dail and Hammar's Pulmonary Pathology has established itself as the definitive reference in the field. This third edition is now a two-volume, full color text. The new editorial board has continued to build upon the excellence previously achieved by reorganizing, expanding and substantially revising the text. This authoritative reference work has been updated to cover newly recognized entities and the latest advances in molecular diagnostic techniques. Abundantly illustrated with more than 2000 full color illustrations, this outstanding contribution to pathology literature is a must-have for the library of every surgical and pulmonary pathologist."

"Part of the trusted Robbins and Cotran family, Robbins Basic Pathology provides a readable, well-illustrated and concise overview of the principles of human pathology that's ideal for today's busy students. This thoroughly revised edition continues with a strong emphasis on pathogenesis and the clinical features of disease, adding new artwork and more schematic diagrams to further aid in summarizing key pathologic processes and expand the already impressive illustration program."

"Provides comprehensive information on both muscle and nerve biopsies."

"This book provides a broad overview of diagnostic pathology, integrating historical perspectives with the current practice of diagnostic pathology across various sub-fields such as surgical pathology, cytopathology, autopsy and forensic pathology, neuropathology and more."

"Pairing necessary detail with concise readability, Berne & Levy Physiology, 8th Edition, provides a perfect balance of content to deliver an in-depth understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Long respected for its scientifically rigorous approach, this highly regarded, mid-size text offers essential physiology with integrated coverage of biophysics andkey experimental observations and examples--all designed to provide a solid scientific foundation in physiology for future scientists and clinicians. Uses a logical, organ system-based approach that clearly describes all of the mechanisms that control and regulate bodily function. Includes new clinical case examples, as well as In the Clinic and At the Molecular Level boxes that highlight practical aspects of this fundamental science. Provides key experimental observations and examples that offer a rich understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Discusses recent discoveries such as the role of lymphatics in the nervous system."

"This book sheds new light on the history of exercise physiology and how it essentially grew, thanks to the work of a few major Schools. Analysing and interpreting the evolution of the field, the authors focus on the School of Milano, which was founded by Rodolfo Margaria and is one of the most prominent representatives, having played a central role in promoting and advancing this field of physiology."

"The book contains a comprehensive text on Physiology for all aspiring students of Medical, Dental and other streams of Health Sciences. The text, SLIM and CRISP, consists of umpteen number of clinical examples from APPLIED PHYSIOLOGY and APPLIED BIOCHEMISTRY with effortlessly reproducible diagrams and easily comprehensible content of CLINICAL and PARACLINICAL topics. An elaborate section on Explain Why with answers, and fairly detailed account of Biochemistry make it a riveting read from cover to cover at one go."

"The book is designed for the students of various countries. Students pursuing Physiology in all major universities too will find this book immensely useful. The information furnished in the text are relevant, up to date and sequentially arranged for imparting better conceptual ability. There is a short preview before each chapter for the students to have a bird's eye view of the content. Extensive use of flow charts, block diagrams and illustrations will develop crystal clear conception of all the concerned topics. There are plenty of additional information provided in the boxes for the advanc."

"Organized around the central theme of homeostasis―how the body meets changing demands while maintaining the internal constancy necessary for all cells and organs to function―HUMAN PHYSIOLOGY helps you appreciate the integrated functioning of the human body."

"In Osteoporosis and Osteoarthritis expert investigators detail modern tools to enhance discovery in bone and cartilage biology and promote translational research in osteoporosis and osteoarthritis. New chapters describe methods to generate induced pluripotent stem cells, perform high-throughput chromatin analysis, assess loads on bone cells in vivo and in vitro, use state-of-the art imaging techniques to measure articular cartilage thickness and biochemical properties, and establish animal models of osteoarthritis and bone healing."

"Between the Lines of Genetic Code "lays out methodologies and tools for the measurement and evaluation of gene-gene and gene-environment studies and gives perspective on the future of this discipline. The book begins by defining terms for interaction studies, describing methodologies, and critically assessing the viability of current study designs and the possibilities for integrating designs. It then provides recent applications data with case studies in rheumatoid arthritis, multiple sclerosis, myositis and other complex human diseases. Last, it examines current studies and directions for future applications in patient care. Recent multivariate studies show that gene-gene and gene-environment interactions can explain significant variances in inheritance that have previously been undetectable in univariate analysis. These links among genes and between genes and their environments during the development of diseases may serve as important hints for understanding pathogenic mechanisms and for developing new tools for prognosis, diagnosis, and treatment of various diseases. Systematically integrates methods of defining and detecting gene interactions to provide an overview of the fieldCritically analyzes current methods and tools to aid researchers in integrating gene interaction studies Includes examples of current biomedical applications and presents current research expected to shape clinical research in the near future."

"Medical Microbiology covers a range of key laboratory techniques used in the diagnosis of human diseases caused by microorganisms such as bacteria, viruses, parasites and fungi. The text is written specifically for biomedical science students and uses case studies throughout to highlight the clinical relevance of the techniques being described."

"Newly revised and updated, the Fourth Edition is a comprehensive guide through the basic molecular processes and genetic phenomena of both prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells. Written for the undergraduate and first year graduate students, the text has been updated with the latest data in the field. It incorporates a biochemical approach as well as a discovery approach that provides historical and experimental information within the context of the narrative."