Skip to main content

Mobile Access, Apps, and eBooks

Your guide to all things mobile in the library from offline ebook reading, to mobile optimized websites, apps and QR codes.

Adobe Digital Editions and Bluefire Reader

Several eBook platforms require Adobe Digital Editions for offline viewing. Not all devices support Adobe Digital Editions, for instance Kindle and Linux do not. 

Sign up for an adobe account at www.adobe.com. This is independent from your NetID.  

Download the Bluefire Reader App onto your mobile device for Android or iPhone and iPad. This free app supports Adobe Digital Editions DRM and enables you to add ebooks and files from multiple sources. 

Dalhousie provides access to ebooks that can be read offline on 3 ebook hosting platforms: EBL, ebrary, and EBSCO eBooks (detailed instructions below). We do not currently offer myilibrary hosted ebooks for offline reading.

EBSCO eBooks Collection

EBSCO ebooks can be accessed in the Databases search function on libraries.dal.ca, or follow this link to EBSCO eBook Collection. These eBooks are also listed in Novanet.

Sign in with your NetID if prompted.

Once you have signed in with your Dalhousie permissions, you will be able to access the full-text of the EBSCO ebooks online.

To download the book to access offline, you will have to create an EBSCOhost account by clicking on the "Sign In" link in the toolbar on the top right of the EBSCO eBook Collection page. Once you have created an account and signed in, you will be able to download the ebook as a PDF to use offline for a maximum period of 7 days.

To download and read the book offline, you will require either Adobe Digital Editions or  Bluefire Reader App . For instructions on how to download these, please see section above.

Welcome to eBooks

eBooks come in many forms and formats. Many reference online electronic resources such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are available online on Credo Reference. This resource cannot be downloaded or used offline.

eBooks available through Dalhousie Libraries can be used online, or can be read offline by downloading to a computer or to an eReader. Popular eReaders include the iPod, iPad, Kindle, Kobo, and Android tablets and smartphones. Offline procedures will differ between platforms and some may not be compatible.

Some new publications are only available as electronic resources, while others may be available as an eBook and a physical copy.  

Digitization projects have made rare or very fragile books available as digital resources, these are available as eBooks or through databases such as Early English Books Online.

When searching in Novanet, note that while you can request printed books from libraries within the Novanet consortium, it is not possible to request eBooks from other libraries.  

Speak with a Subject Specialist if you would like assistance finding and accessing resources.