LibGuides: Pharmacy: Gastrointestinal Disorders

Textbooks

Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Endoscopy by Norton Greenberger; Richard Blumberg; Robert Burakoff
2015
Available online
Gastrointestinal & Liver Pathology by Christine A Iacobuzio-Donahue; Elizabeth Montgomery
2012
Not currently available through Dalhousie Libraries.
Sleisenger & Fordtran's Gastrointestinal & Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management by Marvin H Sleisenger; Mark Feldman; Lawrence S Friedman; Lawrence J Brandt
2016
Not currently available through Dalhousie Libraries.
Evidence-Based Gastroenterology and Hepatology by John W. D. McDonald (Editor); Brian G. Feagan (Editor); Rajiv Jalan (Editor); Peter J. Kahrilas (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119211389
Publication Date: 2019
2019
Pocket Handbook of GI Pharmacotherapeutics by Marianna G. Mavilia (Editor); George Y. Wu (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030725914
Publication Date: 2021
2021
Clinical Update on Inflammatory Disorders of the Gastrointestinal Tract by Julia Mayerle; Herbert Tilg; S. Karger
2010
Textbook of Gastroenterology by Tadataka Yamada; David H Alpers; et al.

Drug Information & Clinical Tools

Dynamed This link opens in a new window
Dynamed contains clinically-oriented, evidence-based summaries written by medical experts for point-of-care use by physicians, medical students, nurses, pharmacists, physical therapists and other health care professionals.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach and covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. BMJ Best Practice gives medical professionals the best available information for any clinical situation. Regularly updated, it draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.

Health Canada's Drug Product Database
Search the Drug Product Database (DPD) to find drugs authorized for sale by Health Canada. The DPD is updated nightly and includes availability of the drug in Canada, product monograph (PM) for human drugs, and labels for animal drugs.
Merck Index Online
Offers information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals in an easily searchable database.

CPS (formerly called RxTx) This link opens in a new window
E-therapeutics+ includes the following products: Therapeutics, based on the publication "Therapeutic Choices", edited by Jean Gray, e-CPS Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, Lexi-Interact Online, a drug interactions program, patient information and e-Therapeutics Mobile offering two applications for your handheld devices.
Lexi-Comp Online with AHFS (Medicine) This link opens in a new window
Lexi-Comp Online is a comprehensive drug information source and clinical, point-of-care tool. Lexi-Comp®ONLINE™ offers access to a variety of clinical databases.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. Includes access to Martindale and RED book. Clinical use not permitted
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
Stahl Online This link opens in a new window
Stahl Online presents the fundamentals of psychopharmacology and includes the ability to search within Stahl’s Essential Psychopharmacology and the Essential Psychopharmacology Prescriber’s Guide plus a Prescriber's Guide, illustrations and tables to download, drug interaction information, and more.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system which combines high-quality, peer-reviewed medical images and concise, actionable information to assist in the accurate recognition and management of disease. Health care professionals can input visual clues, symptoms, and patient history to help make the correct diagnosis.
The mobile app for VisualDx now includes a DermExpert AI feature that provides diagnosis support based on user-generated photos. These temporary photos are not stored in the app or mobile device, nor are they shared to any other server. It is still advised to not include any personally identifying features in images used with this feature.

Mind the Gap: A Handbook of Clinical Signs in Black and Brown Skin

Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference
Available online via Micromedex
Pharmacotherapy Handbook, Tenth Edition by Barbara G. Wells; Joseph T. DiPiro; Terry L. Schwinghammer; Cecily V. DiPiro
ISBN: 9781259586439
Publication Date: 2017
Stockley's Drug Interactions by Claire L. Preston
Call Number: QV 39 S865 2019
ISBN: 9780857113474
Publication Date: 2019
Reference Collection
Applied Therapeutics: the Clinical Use of Drugs by Caroline Zeind; Michael Carvalho
Call Number: WB 330 A651 2018
2018
Conn's Current Therapy 2017 by Edward Bope; Howard Conn; Rick Kellerman
2017
Available online
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by Laurence Brunton; Bjorn Knollmann
ISBN: 9781264258079
Publication Date: 2022
Guide to Diagnostic Tests by Diana Nicoll; Chuanyi Mark Lu; Stephen McPhee
2017
Available online
Litt's Drug Eruption and Reaction Manual by Neil H. Shear
ISBN: 9781003357728
Publication Date: 2023
Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition by Craig Smollin (Editor); Ilene B. Anderson; Neal L. Benowitz; Paul D. Blanc; Susan Y. Kim-Katz; Justin C. Lewis; Alan H. B. Wu; Kent R. Olson
ISBN: 9781264259083
Publication Date: 2022

Food Chemicals Codex Online
Personal account required. Create a personal account using your Dalhousie email address as the username and a password of your choosing.
USP-NF Online
Personal account required. Create a personal account using your Dalhousie email address as the username and a password of your choosing.
USP Dictionary
Personal account required. Create a personal account using your Dalhousie email address as the username and a password of your choosing.
IWK Compounding Formulas
This free resource from the IWK Pharmacy Department includes a list of the most common non-sterile compounding formulas prepared by the IWK Pharmacy.
SickKids Compounding Service
This free resource from the Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) includes a compounding recipe index.
International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding
1997-present
Online Access

Canada:

Nova Scotia Pharmacare Formulary
The Nova Scotia Formulary details which drugs and devices are benefits under the Pharmacare Programs. It is updated monthly.
New Brunswick Formulary
A list of the drugs which are eligible benefits under the NB Drug Plans (New Brunswick Prescription Drug Program and New Brunswick Drug Plan).
Newfoundland and Labrador Formulary
A list of commonly used drugs which have therapeutic equivalence to a reference product, and are listed alphabetically by generic name.
PEI Pharmacare Formulary
A list of prescription medications and medical supplies approved for coverage through PEI Pharmacare. The formulary is reviewed and updated continuously.
Alberta Drug Benefit List.
A list of prescription drugs and drug products covered by the ministry's supplemental health plans. Presented in both interactive (searchable) and printable formats.
British Columbia Pharmacare Formulary Search
This search includes information on medications that PharmaCare covers, as well as some medications that PharmaCare has reviewed but does not cover.
Manitoba Drug Benefits and Interchangeability Formulary
A list of drugs that have been approved as eligible benefits under the Pharmacare drug benefit program.
Ontario Formulary
A list of prescription drug products that are eligible for coverage under the Ontario Drug Benefit program.
Quebec List of Medications
A list of prescription drugs that covered by the Public Prescription Drug Insurance Plan.
Saskatchewan Formulary Database
An online and searchable database of the drugs that are covered by the Saskatchewan Drug Plan.
Northwest Territories & Nunavut Drug Benefit List
A list of the drugs provided as a benefit by the Non-Insured Health Benefits (NIHB) Program.
Yukon Drug Formulary
An online and searchable database of drugs that are covered under Yukon's drug plans.

International:

British National Formulary
2018
Available online
Please note: this resource can be accessed by 1 user at a time

Lexi-Comp Online
Includes audio clips.
MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary
Includes audio clips.
Merck Manual - Home edition
Includes audio clips.

Clinical Practice Guidelines for Specific Conditions

Constipation & Diarrhea

Canadian Guidelines:

Canadian Association of Gastroenterology: Recommendations on Chronic Constipation (2007)

Other Guidelines:

Dyspepsia - General

Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD)

Canadian Guidelines:

Canadian Association of Gastroenterology: Management of Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease in Adults (2019)

Other Guidelines:

Peptic Ulcers and Peptic Ulcer Disease (PUD)

Canadian Guidelines:

Other Guidelines:

Crohn's Disease

Canadian Guidelines:

Other Guidelines:

Ulcerative Colitis

Canadian Guidelines:

Other Guidelines:

Irritable Bowel Syndrome

International Guidelines:

Miscellaneous Guidelines

International Guidelines:

American College of Gastroenterology: Guidelines for Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prevention of Clostridium difficile Infections(US, 2013)

Pharmacy

Textbooks

Drug Information & Clinical Tools

Clinical Practice Guidelines for Specific Conditions

Canadian Guidelines:

Other Guidelines:

Canadian Guidelines:

Canadian and American Guidelines:

Other Guidelines:

Canadian Guidelines:

Other Guidelines:

Canadian Guidelines:

Other Guidelines:

Canadian Guidelines:

Other Guidelines:

Canadian Guidelines:

Other Guidelines:

International Guidelines:

International Guidelines: