Skip to main content

Services For: Health Sciences Faculty, Retired Dalhousie Faculty, Dalhousie Medical Residents, Regional Health Practitioners, International Health professionals & Alumni

Borrowing Priviledges

To borrow books from the Kellogg Library, or any Novanet library, you must be a Nova Scotia resident. You can apply for an off-campus borrower's card free of charge, or you may use your card from the Halifax Public Libraries. Cards can be obtained at the circulation desk of any Novanet library, and you will be required to provide two pieces of identification, including one which shows proof of Nova Scotia residence.

Information Resources and Services

In addition to the Kellogg Library resources and services the following may be useful to Regional Health Practitioners:

Library Services in the following hospitals around the province:
Nova Scotia Health Authority Library Services

IWK Library

The following databases are also available:
PubMed   This open-access version of PubMed is not affiliated with Dalhousie University.

Cochrane Library  This databases has an a GeoIP license allowing access for all residents in the Atlantic Provinces. Created by Cochrane Collaboration designed to provide evidence to inform health care decision making. Comprised of six databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE); CENTRAL - Registry of RCT's; and Methodology Reviews; Health Technology Assessments (HTA); and Economic Evaluations Database (EED). Updated quarterly.

Services available:

Document Delivery: For information on ordering journal articles or other materials, please go to the Document Delivery Office website or email at docdel@dal.ca 

Accessing Dalhousie's Collection

The W. K. Kellogg Health Sciences Library, a part of the Dalhousie University Libraries system, has a long-standing mandate to serve registered health professionals in the Atlantic Provinces. Health professionals can access our print and electronic collections freely within the Kellogg Health Sciences Library. There are several library workstations that do not require a login. From these stations, those not affiliated with Dalhousie can access our electronic databases, journals and books.

Printing is provided at the rate of $0.12 per page, and patrons can also use our on-site scanner to save documents to a USB stick