Skip to Main Content
Go!
Advanced Search
Course Reserves
My Library Account
Dalhousie University Libraries
LibGuides
Quick Reference for the Health Sciences
Dictionaries
Search this Guide
Search
Quick Reference for the Health Sciences
Home
Hard to Cite Sources
Finding Peer-Reviewed Sources
Citation Help
Toggle Dropdown
APA
Vancouver/NLM
Zotero
Evaluating Sources
Writing Help
E-Resources
Bibliometrics LibGuide
Dictionaries
Copyright LibGuide
Publishing Your Paper
Grant Resources
Research Instruments
Translation Services
Encyclopedias LibGuide
Licensing Exams LibGuide
Health Statistics LibGuide
Free Medical Dictionaries
mediLexicon
A UK based site that contains over 230,000 pharmaceutical and medical abbreviations.
AIDSinfo
Published by the US Department of Health and Human Services, allows you to search for HIV/ AIDS related terms, guidelines, drugs, clinical trials, and vaccines.
MedlinePlus Drug Information
An online health information resource maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
National Cancer Institute Dictionary
The Cancer Dictionary allows you to search for cancer drugs and terms.
NHGRI Glossary of Genetic Terms
"In addition to definitions, specialists in the field of genetics share their descriptions of terms, and many terms."
General reference dictionaries
Oxford English Dictionary
An electronic version of the OED, 2nd edition, published in 1989 and updated quarterly with new entries and revisions
Acronym Finder
Includes acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography
Merriam-Webster dictionary
Includes etymologies and a thesaurus.
Who named it?
Biographical dictionary of medical eponyms.
Dictionaries with Access Through Dalhousie
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
by
Thomas Lathrop Stedman
Publication Date: 2016
2006, 28th ed. Available in print
Collins Dictionary of Medicine
by
R. M. Youngson
ISBN: 0007207093
Publication Date: 2005
2005, 4th ed.
Available online
Dorland's Pocket Medical Dictionary
Call Number: W 13 D711ap 2013
ISBN: 9781455708437
Publication Date: 2013
2013, 29th ed.
On reference at the Kellogg.
Black's Medical Dictionary
by
Harvey Marcovitch
ISBN: 9781472943071
Publication Date: 2017
Available online
The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease
by
Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521808347
Publication Date: 2003
2003
Available online
Dictionary of Toxicology
by
Ernest Hodgson; Richard B. Mailman; Janice E. Chambers
Call Number: QV 600 H691 1998
1998
Available online
<<
Previous:
Bibliometrics LibGuide
Next:
Copyright LibGuide >>
Collins Dictionary of Medicine by 
Dorland's Pocket Medical Dictionary
The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by 
