Skip to main content

Guide to Archival Research

A guide on using archival materials held in the University Archives

Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research

Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research by Laura Schmidt, for the the Society of American Archivists  Home

 

Tips on How to Research in an Archives

Tips on How to Research in an Archives by Diane Vogt-O’Connor (1999). CRM : [bulletin]., Vol. 22, no. 2, 44-45

This short guide provides some helpful advice on how to conduct research in an archives.

CRM: The Journal of Heritage Stewardship cover

Learning to Do Historical Research: A Primer for Environmental Historians and Others

Learning to do Historical Research

Learning to Do Historical Research: A Primer for Environmental Historians and Others
by William Cronon, University of Wisconsin - Madison

This website is a basic introduction to historical research for anyone and everyone who is interested in exploring the past.

Whenever you frame a question with reference to how things have changed over time, you commit yourself to doing historical research. All of us do this all the time, but not everyone thinks very carefully about the best ways of finding information about the past and how it relates to the present.

The website is divided into two major sections:

  • The first surveys essential stages of the research process.
  • The second surveys different kinds of documents that can offer invaluable information and insights about the past.

 

Genealogy Research

20140611The Nova Scotia Archives is an excellent spot to start your genealogical research.

 

MemoryNS is the database that will help you discover the holdings of various archives within Nova Scotia.The database is coordinated by the  Council of Nova Scotia Archives.


There is a "Routes to your Roots" YouTube Channel with behind-the-scenes tours of archives across the province of Nova Scotia.  Here's a video of the Celtic Music Interpretive Centre in Judique, Nova Scotia: