Comparative Constitutional Law

The Forum provides an opportunity for interdisciplinary debate and dialogue on constitutional issues in English or French. Articles are generally short and provide insightful commentary on current topics of Canadian and international constitutional importance from authors with constitutional expertise. The Centre for Constitutional Studies publishes the Forum online throughout the year.

The Duke Journal of Constitutional Law & Public Policy (DJCLPP) is a scholarly publication that examines legal issues at the intersection of constitutional litigation and public policy. DJCLPP serves as both a practical resource for lawyers, judges, and legislators who confront cutting-edge constitutional and public policy issues and a forum for intellectual discourse surrounding these issues. DJCLPP aims to enhance the community’s understanding of constitutional law and public policy and to arm practitioners with arguments and proposals for reform.

The European Constitutional Law Review, a peer-reviewed English-language journal, is a platform for advancing the study of European constitutional law, its history and its evolution. Published in four issues per year, it contains articles on doctrine, theory and practice, plus case notes and book reviews. EuConst is addressed at academics, professionals, politicians and all those involved or interested in the European constitutional process.

Published since 1964 at the Australian National University, the Federal Law Review (FLR) is recognised as one of Australia’s leading academic law journals. The FLR publishes high quality scholarship on matters of public law, both in Australia and elsewhere. The FLR publishes four issues per year, with a themed final issue.

Published in association with the New York University School of Law, ICON is dedicated to advancing the study of international and comparative constitutional law in the broadest sense of the terms. ICON recognizes that the boundaries between the disciplines of “constitutional law”, “administrative law”, “international law” and their comparative variants have become increasingly porous. So too, there is no longer a distinct divide between law and political science. ICON scholarship reflects and values this intellectual cross-fertilization.

An academic, bilingual journal focusing on constitutional issues in Canada.

Published by the Centre for Constitutional Studies since 1993, the Review is Canada’s only peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, academic journal dedicated to the exploration and analysis of constitutional law and theory. The Review publishes original scholarly work on the theoretical, functional, and doctrinal aspects of constitutional law, and provides a forum for the analysis of constitutionalism in its various political, social, and historical contexts. The Review also welcomes articles with a focus on comparative or global constitutionalism.

The edited proceedings of Osgoode’s Constitutional Cases Conference, held annually since 1997, have been published as special volumes of the Supreme Court Law Review (SCLR) since 2002. The papers provide expert commentary and analysis of the Supreme Court of Canada’s constitutional jurisprudence for the preceding calendar year. Papers by Canada’s foremost judges, constitutional scholars, and litigation experts address the Court’s decisions on federalism and constitutional rights, including aboriginal rights, as well as offer broader perspectives on constitutional theory and interpretation. Over the years this conference has been recognized as the leading source of constitutional scholarship in Canada.
Some volumes available open access via the Osgoode Digital Commons at https://digitalcommons.osgoode.yorku.ca/sclr/.

The University of Pennsylvania Journal of Constitutional Law (JCL) provides a forum for the academic advancement and interdisciplinary study of constitutional law. To that end, JCL cultivates innovative scholarship, promotes critical perspectives, and reinvents the traditional study of constitutional law.

The American Journal of Comparative Law was founded in 1952. As the official journal of the American Society of Comparative Law, it publishes four issues a year and is devoted to comparative and transnational legal studies – including, among other subjects, comparative law, comparative and transnational legal history and theory, private international law and conflict of laws, and the study of legal systems, cultures, and traditions other than those of the US. In its long and rich history, The AJCL has published articles authored by scholars representing all continents, regions, and legal cultures of the world. A peer-reviewed, leading journal in the field, it has been hosted in the past by institutions such as the UC Berkeley School of Law, Columbia Law School and the University of Michigan Law School; currently, the Georgetown University Law Center and the McGill University Faculty of Law jointly serve as its host.

The Duke Journal of Comparative and International Law (“DJCIL”) was established in 1990 and is dedicated to the publication of original scholarship on international, transnational and comparative law matters. The Journal is edited by a student board and publishes three issues annually. DJCIL not only publishes articles by international scholars and practitioners, but also draws upon Duke’s prominent international and comparative law faculty. Additionally, approximately one-third of the Journal’s total page count is devoted to notes by Duke Law students. DJCIL’s editorial staff includes many students enrolled in Duke’s JD/LLM Program in International and Comparative Law and some of the international practitioners enrolled in Duke’s LLM Program.

The ILSA Journal of International & Comparative Law is an academic legal publication that is housed at Nova Southeastern Shepard Broad Law Center in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. The ILSA Journal is published three times each year. The first issue is a compilation of notes, comments and essays concerning emerging topics in international law. The second issue, titled “International Practitioner’s Notebook,” features articles from legal scholars and practitioners who participated in the annual International Law Weekend conference in New York City, New York. This issue is produced in cooperation with the American Branch of the International Law Association and the American Bar Association Section of International Law and Practice. The third issue is published in both English and Spanish. It features scholarly articles with a regional focus on Latin America and South America.

The International & Comparative Law Quarterly (ICLQ) publishes papers on public and private international law, comparative law, human rights and European law, and is one of the world's leading journals covering all these areas. Since it was founded in 1952 the ICLQ has built a reputation for publishing innovative and original articles within the various fields, and also spanning them, exploring the connections between the subject areas. It offers both academics and practitioners wide topical coverage, without compromising rigorous editorial standards.

The African Journal of International and Comparative Law provides invaluable scholarly material on law from a pan-African point of view. The journal includes articles on both public and private international law, either in English or French, as well as recent developments relevant to the continent of Africa.

The Annual Survey of International & Comparative Law is published annually by students and faculty of the Golden Gate University International Law program.

The Asian Journal of Comparative Law (AsJCL) is the leading forum for research and discussion of the law and legal systems of Asia. It embraces work that is theoretical, empirical, socio-legal, doctrinal or comparative that relates to one or more Asian legal systems, as well as work that compares one or more Asian legal systems with non-Asian systems. The Journal seeks articles which display an intimate knowledge of Asian legal systems, and thus provide a window into the way they work in practice. The AsJCL is an initiative of the Asian Law Institute (ASLI), an association established by thirteen leading law schools in Asia and with a rapidly expanding membership base across Asia and in other regions around the world.