Maritime Law

The Aegean Review of the Law of the Sea and Maritime Law brings together the research in the fields of the law of the sea and maritime law by viewing them as interrelated legal disciplines. It welcomes studies of high quality that examine the legal regulation of marine space and its use by humans, especially in relation to navigation and shipping, at the international, regional and national level. The Review publishes original research articles that examine these issues from a theoretical, historical, comparative or case-study perspective, while relevant survey articles, book reviews and court decisions will also be included.

The Australian and New Zealand Maritime Law Journal aims to publish significant works of scholarship that make original contributions to different fields of maritime law and commerce.

The International Journal of Marine and Coastal Law addresses all aspects of marine and coastal law. In addition to normal in-depth scholarly articles, the Journal contains a distinctive feature: a vigorous ‘Current Legal Developments’ section which provides notes and commentary on international treaties and case law, national statute law, national court decisions, and other aspects of state practice; includes the relevant original documentation where appropriate; and monitors developments in relevant international organizations at a global and regional level.

The Journal of International Maritime Law (JIML) is a peer-reviewed journal providing expert analytical coverage of current developments world wide in shipping and maritime law, marine insurance law, international trade law, combined transport law, private international law, marine environmental law, and the law of the sea

The JMLC is the premier journal in the field of maritime law in the United States and one of the premier journals on the subject in the world. In fact, courts and arbitrators — including the United States Supreme Court and foreign courts — have cited it over 450 times since its inception. Also available via Westlaw Edge Canada (password required - Dal law students only).

The Law of the Sea Bulletin provides cogent and timely information on important issues related to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. Issued three times a year, it provides legal material relevant to the Law of the Sea, including national legislation, bilateral agreements and multilateral treaties, as well as information on decisions of the International Court of Justice, arbitration tribunals and other dispute settlement procedures.

Lloyd's Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly is a dedicated quarterly journal covering maritime and commercial issues, and is essential reading for legal professionals and academics.

Located in the coastal city of Portland, Maine, the Ocean and Coastal Law Journal is dedicated to facilitating discourse on legal issues related to domestic and international use of the sea and seashores. It is published by second and third year students at the University of Maine School of Law in two issues per year. These volumes include articles by practitioners and scholars, as well as comments and case notes written by students addressing issues of marine resource regulation, coastal zone management, marine environmental protection, and other topics of importance in the field of ocean and coastal law. As of Fall 2015, the Ocean and Coastal Law Journal publications are available entirely online. Also available via Westlaw Edge Canada and Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only).

Ocean Development and International Law is devoted to all aspects of international and comparative law and policy concerning the management of ocean use and activities. It focuses on the international aspects of ocean regulation, ocean affairs, and all forms of ocean utilization. The journal publishes high quality works of scholarship in such related disciplines as international law of the sea, comparative domestic ocean law, political science, marine economics, geography, shipping, the marine sciences, and ocean engineering and other sea-oriented technologies. Discussions of policy alternatives and factors relevant to policy are emphasized, as are contributions of a theoretical and methodological nature.

Devoted to assessing the state of ocean and coastal governance, knowledge, and management, the Ocean Yearbook provides information in one convenient resource. Articles provide multidisciplinary expert perspectives on contemporary issues. Each new volume draws on policy studies, international relations, international and comparative law, management, marine sciences, economics, and social sciences. Each volume contains key legal and policy instruments and an annually updated global directory of ocean-related organizations.