The yellow 'Get it @ Dal button', which displays in most journal article databases, is an important tool that will help you locate journal articles. Clicking the button will bring you a step closer to the electronic full-text, or, if that's not available, help you locate the journal in a Novanet library, or order the journal article through Document Delivery.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search the scholarly literature. Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Set up Google Scholar to Link to Dalhousie E-Resources
Google Scholar is easy to use and searching is familiar since most of us use Google.
You can set up Google Scholar to link to the Dalhousie Libraries' electronic resources so that you have access to fulltext.
Go to Google Scholar
Click on the Menu (the 3 horizontal lines) in the top left-hand corner :
Select Settings or the gear icon:
Click "Library Links"
Search for Dalhousie
Check the box beside:
Save your selection
Now when you do a search, you will see links like this next to entries, when full text is available:
Includes full-text articles from all ACM journals and magazines -- from 1991 through the current issues; and ACM conference proceedings for the same period. You can search the entire database by keyword, title, author and subject, or browse the Tables of Contents. Bibliographic information for all ACM journals and magazines from 1985 on, supplemented by abstracts and critical reviews from the ACM Computing Reviews, provides an invaluable source for research.
* Includes the Science Citation Index
* In addition to general searches by topic or author, the Web of Science allows cited reference searching enabling you to find articles that have cited a previously published work.