Skip to Main Content

Music

A guide to the music resources available in the Killam Memorial Library.

Sound recordings

The music collection in the Killam Memorial Library has sound recordings available in three formats:

A limited number of audio cassettes and other audio formats can be found in the music collection and in Special Collections. Sound recordings are organized according to a slightly modified version of the Library of Congress classification system.

Archival sound recordings

The University Archives also holds music sound recordings. The main music guide provides a select list of music archives available in the Killam Memorial Library. See the University Archives' page on visual and performing arts archives for more information. 

Archival material cannot be found in Novanet. Search the Archives Catalogue and Online Collections. See the Guide to Archival Research for more information on searching and browsing the archival collections.

Finding sound recordings in the Killam Memorial Library

To find sound recordings in the Novanet catalogue:

  1. Start with a simple keyword search, e.g. bach music
  2. Narrow your results using the filter options. At minimum, select "Audio Visual" under Resource Type. Other options include:
    1. Narrowing by Author/ Creator (e.g. select "Bach, J")
    2. Limiting results to the Killam Library. Select "DAL Killam Library" under Library.
    3. Selecting a specific location within the music library: "DAL Killam Library Music Collection - Phonodisc", "DAL Killam Library Music Collection - CD", "DAL Killam Library Music Collection - Phonotape", and/or "DAL Killam Library Music Collection - Warner Phonodisc".
  3. Once narrowed appropriately, select an item by clicking on the title.
  4. Take note of the location, call number, and availability of the item.
  5. To return to your search results, click on the white X on the left side.

Browse CDs and vinyl sound recordings

Dalhousie Libraries classifies scores and sound recordings using a slightly modified version of the Library of Congress Classification. Students and faculty can use this guide to browse scores and sound recordings. Books are classified according to the standard Library of Congress Classification and can be browsed according to the official classification outline for music (see ML and MT “sub-classes”).

Subjects: Music